Showing posts with label 2017 Reviews. Show all posts
Showing posts with label 2017 Reviews. Show all posts

June 27, 2017

Review: Until It Fades by K.A. Tucker

Twenty-four-year-old truck stop waitress and single mother Catherine Wright has simple goals: to give her five-year-old daughter a happy life and to never again be the talk of the town in Balsam, Pennsylvania: population two thousand outside of tourist season.

And then one foggy night, on a lonely road back from another failed attempt at a relationship, Catherine saves a man’s life. It isn’t until after the police have arrived that Catherine realizes exactly who it is she has saved: Brett Madden, hockey icon and media darling.

Catherine has already had her fifteen minutes of fame and the last thing she wants is to have her past dragged back into the spotlight, only this time on a national stage. So she hides her identity. It works.

For a time.

But when she finds the man she saved standing on her doorstep, desperate to thank her, all that changes. What begins as an immediate friendship quickly turns into something neither of them expected. Something that Catherine isn’t sure she can handle; something that Catherine is afraid to trust.

Because how long can an extraordinary man like Brett be interested in an ordinary woman like Catherine…before the spark fades?


Review by April

Paperback ARC compliments of Simon & Schuster Canada for an honest review.
Another manic book rambling brought to you by April

TOP READ ALERT!! TOP READ ALERT!! TOP READ ALERT!!!

5++++ Unexpected Stars.

It's not often that I'm left feeling like a giddy school girl upon finishing a book, but Until it Fades had me reeling in a book nerd's delight from the very first page; twirling and skipping about in an euphoric state of bliss on readers cloud 9. This book! GAH! Having dove in blind, it was everything. EVERYTHING! I never knew I needed in a book right now! I just want to hug it, squish it, kiss it and grope on it. It was just that amazing! There was no choice but to devour it, and devour it I DID! I couldn't read it fast enough, yet at the same time I couldn't read it slow enough. I never wanted Until it Fades to end. I'm not one to re-read books, but this is definitely one I could read over and over and over again. And again.

A modern day fairy tale with the added basis of a trope that makes me weak in the knees... yeah. Hook. Line. Sinker, baby! I was deliriously smitten throughout this lighthearted, yet chock full of hearty, meaty substance romance.

Catherine Wright is one of the strongest heroines I've read as of late. Plagued with obstacles from teenage decisions, nothing will stop her from providing the best life for her daughter. Life hasn't been easy for Catherine but through perseverance and a giving heart life has a way of working itself out when its most unexpected or wanted. Throughout the story line you will witness her character develop and flourish into quite a beautiful and loving adult. She deserves all the beautiful and good things in life. I adore her strength and fortitude.

In the blink of an eye Brett Madden's life changes. A near death experience will do that to a person. While this NHL star is recovering all he wants to do is find the person the anonymous person who saved his life. And finding her certainly changes his life all over again!!!! SQUEEE!!! He's so down to earth, charming, and just REAL! He's alllllll the things that make up a good book boyfriend, but in his case, book hisband! He's the real freaking deal *swoooooon* I heart him!

There's something so special about Until it Fades, be it the fairy tale-esque spin, the student/teacher aspect, single mom, or hockey player romance. When combined they make up an exuberant story full of feels and swoon that make me go all fan-girl on K.A. Tucker! With Tucker's exceptional writing I felt like I lived this story along side its cast of characters.




June 25, 2017

Review: Exploited by A. Meredith Walters

At first glance, I’m nothing out of the ordinary. I am a daughter. A sister. A friend. When you look at me you won’t see anything that warrants suspicion. I don’t look like a criminal.

My name is Hannah Whalen, but most people know me as freed0mov3rdr1v3, or “Freedom Overdrive”—one of the world’s most prolific and notorious hacktivists. My goal—my purpose—is to shed light on the evil that lurks behind the corporate and government lies we have been force-fed for too long.

My story begins with the best possible intention. Devoting my life to exposing the corrupt. The dishonest. The unethical. For that, they label me a cyber-terrorist. Wanted by the FBI, I’ve always been one step ahead.

Until I fell in love.

Because I’m sleeping with the man who’s hunting me. And he has no idea that I am his prey. Now I have to decide what’s more important: my freedom or my heart.


 Review by April

ARC provided for an honest review 

5 'I needed the lies to remind me of the truth.' Stars

A. Meredith Walters brings her 'A-game in fiction' to the table with Exploited! This jaw dropping, pulse pounding, heart stopping suspenseful romance will have your mind spinning, and leave you gasping for your next breath. It's insanely intense and beyond addictive! A fantastic start to the Zero Day Series, which is sure to obliterate the senses!

I'm thrilled to have the villain be the unsuspected little heroine of the story! It's such a refreshing twist to be lured and drawn in, completely captivated and charmed by the narcissistic bewitching heroine who just so happens to be a very popular cyber criminal in the underground hacker world. She has her reasons, they seem legit... enough. Freedoms's cause is for the greater good, after all.

Exploited follows the twisted and blurred lines of love and necessity through a tangled and complex web of lies and deceit laid down by Hannah Whelan between her and her main interest, Mason Kohler, who just so happens to be the FBI agent assigned to her case at the bureau. Coincidence? I think not! Emotions will soar, and hearts will break in this game of cat and mouse where everyone is two steps ahead of each other and always 1one step behind. Who will win? I HAVE NO IDEA!!

EVERYTHING about this story line has me so ramped up and giddy!! I can't contain myself, it's almost too much. Almost! Straight from the preface I was hooked, absolutely intrigued beyond measure. The tone was set and kept throughout the entire book, an intensity that at times was almost too much!! I couldn't read it fast enough. More, more, MORE! I needed to get to the bottom of everything NOW, well, five minutes ago would have been better for my nerves but OMG!!! I loved every single thing about this book!! Every minute detail and character is pertinent to the overall story.

Exploited is a true roller coaster ride for the emotions and senses through every twist and turn of the plot! I cannot wait to get my hands on the next book!

June 23, 2017

Review: Tycoon by Katy Evans

He wasn’t always this rich. This hot. This difficult.
Aaric Christos was a guy who protected me. Wanted me. Maybe even loved me.
That man is gone.
In his place is the most powerful real estate tycoon in the city.
He’s a cold, ruthless, aggressive businessman.
The only one who can save me and my startup from ruin.
It takes every ounce of courage to put my pride aside and ask for his help.
I didn’t expect him to offer it easily.
And he doesn’t.
Instead, he vets me harder than he’s vetted anyone.
Don’t invest in what you don’t know, he says.
He's assessing every piece of me, to the point I've never felt so bare.
I yearn for the boy I once knew, whose touch once craved me.
Putting it all on the line will be worth it, I tell myself.
Until I realize—too late—that some risks are not worth taking.


 Review by April 

ARC provided for an honest review 

4 "It's wild and free and raw and primal, and it's all in his kiss." Stars

Katy Evan does it once again!! Book, after book, winning my heart over with each new alpha she brings to life! Ruthless in business and passionate behind closed doors, it wasn't hard to fall for this savvy Tycoon!! Katy Evans does Alpha males like nobodies business, and Aaric Christos is one alpha everyone needs to experience!

Tycoon entails every facet that causes me to fall head over heels in love with a book! This tantalizing yet decadent slow burn, second chance romance is bursting at the seams with sexual tension, angst, and ALL the sizzle and swoon that make the butterflies in my stomach go craaaaaazaaay! Heart pounding adrenaline throughout the crazy ups and downs, unexpected twists and turns. The dirty talking and sweet moments... such sweet heart melting tenderness. OMG! This book is pretty much EVERYTHING!

'thudthudthud'
All of this SWOON has made me into a twisted pile of lusty goo!
I JUST CAN'T EVEN!!

And those kisses!!! Can we just talk about how sweet, luscious and mouth watering HOT they are?! Holy crapola!
*puckers up*

'He kisses a thousand times better than in my decades-long fantasies. So good my heart beats in my whole body-my chest, my stomach, my thighs, in between...'

A long lost love, a decades-long fantasy, the timing for Brynn Kelly and Aaric Christos had not been on their side when they met back in high school.  Fast forward to present day Manhattan, NY. This is when the story gets real, when it gets raw. It's go time! *bites nails* -That- special connection between Brynn and Christos still exists, maybe stronger than ever in part due their extended time apart. The bond, the magnetism, the push and pull. Oh. My. God! It was so easy to get swept up into the emotion of this story! No matter how alpha they are now, they'll always the sweet boy you fell in love with years ago.

'I give in and for a moment, I just want it all. I want all of this man. I want to know what he wants, what he dreams, what makes him up, I want to dissect him and let him dissect me and then I want to put each other together with the wrong pieces, so one piece of him ends up in me,  and some of mine end up in him.'

'It's an obsession, and addiction, a complete infatuation.'


 Review by Jennifer 

ARC provided for an honest review



I love the anticipation of knowing that a new Katy Evans book will be out soon. Once I find out one is coming I can’t think of anything else but getting my hands on it. So, I was very ecstatic to get an email saying that I had been selected to receive an ARC of Tycoon. I started it the day it hit my kindle!

Tycoon was not what I originally thought it would be. Katy writes THE BEST ALPHA MALES, and I expected Christo’s to be another one to add to the list of the ones that have stolen my heart however I was just a little unexpectedly surprised. Don’t get me wrong while he certainly had alpha male tendencies to him, I felt his caring, gentle side was more prevalent throughout the story. He was dreamy almost right from the start.

I adored that this was a love story that really spanned years. It was a love that was lost and given a second change to rekindle itself. It was sweet, it was enduring and it was very heartfelt watching these two characters get to know one another and fall in love again.

It was a sweet love story but it was not without its ups and downs. You know there has to be some drama , that’s what makes the story good..lol

For the most part though it was an easy read with loveable characters that will have you rooting for them from the very first page. Will they find their HEA with each other? You’ll have to read the book to find out. 


June 22, 2017

Review: Wrecked by Jeannine Colette

Take one sexy bartender. Add a badass cop. A splash of sweet, that's me. One sour, that's him... and serve over ice.

That’s how you’ll get to my current situation.

You know the girl - the one who commands the scene, bottle of liquor in hand, pouring liquid fire into the willing throats of patrons as they let loose at the local bar?

That's me. Leah Marie Paige.

I may be known as the town party girl, but in reality I'm this close to my dream of opening my own bar - McConaugheys. Yes, it will be named after the acclaimed actor. What can I say? I’m a sucker for that sexy Texan.

Everything was going as planned until the night I had a few drinks and accepted a ride home from a friend. A misunderstanding leads to an arrest, and now I'm at the mercy of the one man I can’t stand, and trust me, the feeling is definitely mutual.

Adam Reingold is six-feet-tall and built like a stallion -- the man is the epitome of male. He also happens to be the town narc and hates my guts. There’s a story to our past and it's not a pretty one.

So, now, here I am, chained to him for the summer like a hardened criminal, doing whatever he tells me to do. Problem is, I can’t help but look at him when he’s not watching and wonder what our future could be like if things were different.

There are so many reasons why he’s all wrong for me. Even more reasons why I need to stay away from him.

It’s a cocktail of trouble. Best served shaken, not stirred.


 Review by April

ARC provided for an honest review

5 "Letting him into my kitchen." Stars

There's a fine line between love and hate, sometimes they're one in the same. A brittle balance of stubborn wills and ego, if you will. The combination of past loves and severed friendships that leave YOU, your heart, your mind, your soul Wrecked.

I've been Wrecked.
Ruined.

Jeannine Colette returns with Wrecked, a standalone story that is provocative while exuding such sweetness, tender, and fragile moments. A slow burn of flashbacks and fond memories... of the boy who got away... of the boy who lost the game of life. This is what contemporary romance is all about!! Bring on the drama and drown me in angst!

'All right, all right, all right! Let's get this party started!'

Leah Paige has the reputation as a party girl, the town joke, and being a bar maid just adds fuel to the fire of the punchline that is her life in this small town in Iowa. Welcome to Cedar Springs, folks!

Broody, sour faced Adam Reingold. He wasn't always this way. Seems life has a way of changing people. Traumatic, earth shattering events will harden the softest of men. Deep inside he hasn't changed much, nor did he forget any time spent with her. Her. Leah. His best friend's girlfriend.

"Funny thing about trying to distance yourself from someone when you're in a tight space is, the further you move away from each other, the closer you become."


The highs and lows, ups and downs, through the twists and turns of life and their story I was sucked in from the first chapter. I had to know more. I had my hunches and suspicions, but never did I think =ALL OF THIS= would transpire. Holy. Freaking. Crap. Honestly, I'm in shock... perhaps its awe... I don't even know. I just can't even when it comes to Jeannine Colette!! Her words, the life she breathes into the story and characters. The way her words and magical prose makes you feel, it's as if you're living this book. GAH!! It's a book nerd's fantasy come to life. There's just so much to this book, the element of surprise, heartache, the clutching grip of all the angst. Sexual tension, quirky a-dork-able parents. It has it all!!

'He f**ks me hard.
He loves me sweet.'


Don't miss out on this un-put-down-able, addictive AF, TOP READ of 2017!!


June 21, 2017

Review: Lucky Charmed by Sharla Lovelace

Carmen Frost hates honey. And bees. And in her hometown of Charmed, Texas, which practically invented the stuff, that’s a problem. The good news is that the summer Honey Festival is finally over. Even better, so is the annual Lucky Hart carnival, a road show that made off with her dreams years ago—including the boy she loved. Now she’s got a divorce behind her, and a successful law career in front of her, but in a tiny town, big memories die hard. Or they don’t die at all—as Carmen discovers when she runs into an all too familiar pair of eyes—older, wiser, and just as heart-melting as ever . . .

Sully Hart has had enough of the nomad lifestyle. Travelling with his father’s carnival gave him adventures, but it cost him much more. Now he’s home to stay, contracted to create an entertainment complex in Charmed. He wants roots, a house with a yard and all the mundane pleasures that go with it. But the girl he loved has become a woman who still wants freedom. Can she still want him? It seems he and Carmen are at each other’s throats one minute—and on each other’s lips the next. Someone’s gotta give . . .


Review by April

ARC provided for an honest review 

4 'Forever is what we make it.' Stars

Young love leaves a lasting impression and wanderlust for the great beyond in this emotional, soul searching, and self seeking second chance romance takes us back to the small town of Charmed, Texas for the second installment in the Charmed in Texas series.

Oh, Carmen. I simply adore her character, she hasn't had the best or easiest luck in love, or luck in general, especially when it comes to escaping the small town that seems to keep her in it's clutches. Now in her thirty's with a divorce in the past and a good career under her belt as a lawyer, it's time to leave this Charmed little town for bigger and better things. The plan's been made and set into motion, that is, until the one who left without a trace all those fifteen years ago comes back into town. Torn and even more confused, Carmen is set into a self induced tale-spin of hysteria. To stay or leave... a temporary vacation or permanently?

Emotions are pulled from every direction. The magnetic pull between them remains, it will forever exist. Sully will always have a place in her heart. Heck, who are we kidding here? Sullivan Hart OWNS her; heart and soul. Sully the carnie and Carmen the girl from the trailer park. A love that found each other too young as some would say. A love that would forever stay with them both, that would ruin them, shape them and twist their hopes and dreams for REAL love once again.

Small town love meets big city dreams. Sometimes you have to leave to find your way back home to each other.

Sharla Lovelace once again Charms readers with her emotional, romantic reads that are full of sizzle, swoon, and so much heart! I can't wait to see what's in store for next for Charmed, Texas. 


June 20, 2017

Review: Trust by Kylie Scott

Being young is all about the experiences: the first time you skip school, the first time you fall in love…the first time someone holds a gun to your head.

After being held hostage during a robbery at the local convenience store, seventeen year old Edie finds her attitude about life shattered. Unwilling to put up with the snobbery and bullying at her private school, she enrolls at the local public high school, crossing paths with John. The boy who risked his life to save hers. While Edie’s beginning to run wild, however, John’s just starting to settle down. After years of partying and dealing drugs with his older brother, he’s going straight—getting to class on time, and thinking about the future.

An unlikely bond grows between the two as John keeps Edie out of trouble and helps her broaden her horizons. But when he helps her out with another first—losing her virginity—their friendship gets complicated.

Meanwhile, Edie and John are pulled back into the dangerous world they narrowly escaped. They were lucky to survive the first time, but this time they have more to lose—each other.


 Review by April 

ARC provided for an honest review 

5 'Beer and blood. Cigarettes and lies.' Stars

What an astounding literary adventure. Holy. Shhhh....it! Sucked in from the first chapter, I knew this book was going to destroy me bit by bit then slowly repair my traumatized heart, soul, and mind. Be warned, try to be prepared... as Kylie Scott dives head first into YA and makes it her bitch!!!

The intensity and pace set from the beginning lures you in and holds you hostage. Unable to back away, to escape from Truth's clutches, I buckled in for the angst fueled ride through the emotional and mental turbulence set into motion by one innocent excursion for treats. Seriously though, I'll never look at a convenience store the same way again.

I couldn't put this book down! It consumed my life... it still is. The trauma, despair, grief, guilt, realism of events, the characters- EVERYTHING! Kylie Scott's writing continues to blow my mind with each new work of fiction she masterminds. I'm in awe. I'm in the middle of a freaking book hangover here, and I NEED MORE!!! Now. Please.

Edie Millen and John Cole, you can't get more polar opposite than these two. She's the quiet book nerd and scholar type. He's the ex-drug dealing bad boy with a reputation a mile long. After their worlds are sent spiraling off kilter and survivors guilt sets in, the two find a sort of solace/safe place in one another. They understand each other on a whole different level after surviving what they did that horrific night. Their friendship isn't easy, it's complicated and messy, especially after feelings start to form, and lust takes over.

She's trying to not give a f*** about the small stuff anymore.
He's trying to turn his life around for a better future.

GAH! Trust is one of those books that I wish I could read again for the first time. The feelings, and emotions evoked are unforgettable.  The whole experience of this story will be one of those that will not be forgotten, it's one of those gems that will constantly be in the back of your mind. Hands-down a top read of 2017!

June 16, 2017

Review: I Knew You Were Trouble by Lauren Layne

New York City’s hottest bachelors are stirring up trouble in this fun, flirty Oxford Novel, as a love triangle forces a feisty beauty to choose between winning back Mr. Right or giving in to Mr. Wrong.

Taylor Carr has it all—a sleek job in advertising, a stunning Manhattan apartment, and the perfect man to share it with: Bradley Calloway. Even after Bradley dumps her for a co-worker on move-in day, Taylor isn’t worried. She’ll get her man eventually. In the meantime, she needs a new roommate. Enter Nick Ballantine, career bartender, freelance writer—and longtime pain in Taylor’s ass. Sexy in a permanent five-o’clock-shadow kind of way, Nick knows how to push Taylor’s buttons, as if he could see right through to the real her.

Nick’s always trying to fix people, and nobody could use a good fixing more than Taylor. Sure, she’s gorgeous, with mesmerizing silver eyes, but it’s her vulnerability that kills him. Now that they’re shacking up together, the chemistry is out of control. Soon they’re putting every part of their two-bedroom apartment to good use. Then Taylor’s ex comes crawling back to her, and Nick figures she’ll jump at the chance to go back to her old life—unless he fights for the best thing that ever happened to him.


 Review by Jennifer 

ARC received via Netgalley for an honest review 

Oh my gosh another Oxford book YAY! I swear I cannot get enough of this group of friends. I totally loooove them and I wish the series could go on and on forever!

This book is Taylor & Nick’s story. My heart is pounding just thinking of these two again. They are oil and water. They live to rile one another up. Right from the get go you can feel the sexual tension between these two. The buildup is fanflippingtastic! Part of you will be like just do the deed and get it over with and the other part will be like, no, don’t do it, you’ll just regret it…lol These characters are funny, witty and sometimes nasty to one another but in the best way possible.

This story is great the way it’s builds, it’s definitely not insta love for these two that’s for sure but the ride is so entertaining and it will leave you laughing your butt of at times and then awing because they are just so cute together. Really, I absolutely loved them together!

This is another awesome story from Author Lauren Layne and one you won’t want to miss out on!

June 14, 2017

Review: Love In Transit

Find out what happens when you give six authors the SAME blurb and they write their OWN story.

The blurb:

You know those people that have a house full of motivational slogans? Embrace Every Moment, stamped on their coffee mugs. Always Kiss Me Goodnight painted above their perfectly made beds.

I’m not one of those people.

This morning I overslept, then slipped on a stray sock and banged my toe into the nightstand. The elevator in my building broke and I had to run down six flights of stairs. And then my local coffee shop was closed. For health code violations.

What’s that? Not the end of the world? You want me to suck it up?

Did I mention I’m wearing a wedding dress… on the subway?

It’s a Good Day for a Hot Mess.

Someone embroider that on a pillow.


 Review by April

ARC provided for an honest review 


I've been intrigued and horny to get my hands on this anthology since it was announced. Such a unique concept, and I'm all for a new fictional adventures, especially those that are fresh and haven't been done before. I can't wait to see how all six stories, using the same synopsis plays out!


*****Times Square by Jana Aston*****

"Once in a while, right in the middle of an ordinary life, love gives us a fairy tale."

I fell in love with Times Square! This installment in the anthology made me feel all the squish, mushy, jittery, butterfly swarming feels that comes with new love.

Lauren and Max are perfect and so darn cute together. With sexual chemistry that's off the charts,  greater than the Empire State Building, it was fun to watch them fall in love, so in sync with each other.

Downright delectable!, Times Square is a sexy, swoon filled insta love that leaves me begging for more.

When you're  stuck in a rut and losing hope, sometimes a simple smile can change the course of your life.


*****St. George Station by Ainsley Booth*****

"I'm guzzling whiskey and she's asking for juice. My best friend's kid sister."

Ainsley Booth delivers Hot AF reads, and St. George Station DID. NOT. DISAPPOINT. Oh my gaaawd! *fans self*

She's off limits.
He's her older brothers best friend.

The whole "taboo"/off-limit factor combined with a  friend to lovers twist had me drooling in anticipation for what was to come with these two. Cara and Toby *le sigh* I can't even right now. I'm nothing but a puddle of gushy, mushy swoon right now.

Again, I'm left begging for more.


*****The Hammersmith & City Line by Kitty French*****

"It's been a while since a girl was direct enough to attempt to fellate me through my trousers. Call me prudish, but I'd prefer it if you kissed my mouth before my cock. Buy me a beer, even. What kind if man do you take me for?"

British humour, wit, and banter have always been a weakness of mine and there's no holding back when it comes to Kitty French!

The Hammersmith & City Line was an absolute treat to read! Brimming with a hilarious plot, characters, and one insanely intense wedding game show, Kitty took us on an addictive journey with Connie and Ryan! With a touch of suspense it just added that extra special touch to make this short read a heart pounding fictional adventure. 


*****The Loop by BJ Harvey*****

"My biggest regret and my longest-held dream."

Cue the waterworks! BJ Harvey guides us down memory lane with a long lost love. The end wasn't pretty but the new beginning of Sarah and Cameron's journey is definitely fairy tale HEA!

Sixteen years, seems like a lifetime but these two lovebirds from the past haven't forgotten anything about each other and not a day goes by that one doesn't think of the other.

A fun, emotional second chance romance.


*****Capitol South by Raine Miller*****

"Yes, I love you. I learned that loving you is not a thing I can choose to do, or not to do. Love is something I finally understand after all these years. And I only understand it in the context of you."

There's really nothing quite like a good old Political romance, reeling with such unconventional rules, traditions, and expectations derived of POTUS lineage.

The sexualized push and pull between Reese and Grayson has been going on for years. Plauged by a deadline of bloodlines and several NOs, Grayson has given up, well almost. *wink*

A twist of fate that will lead these two to a future that spells Happily Ever After.

I'd love to see this as a full length novel as there's so much more to explore!! I'm quite intrigued with the storyline.


*****Wall Street Station by Liv Morris*****

"To save an Angel, I prepare to make a deal with the devil."

Oh my God!!! This one!! It was devine! Seraphina and Seth!!! These two are #RelationshipGoals.

When your life is swept out from under your feet so tragically like Sera's, it's comforting to have a knight in shining armor to help guide you.

For three years Seth has had his eyes and heart set on Sera. Fireworks and sparks, their meeting was fate! Their love is just out of the world.

I'm so smitten with this story!! Gah!!! Liv Morris you need to hurry up and write the rest of this story!! I am dying here. I neeeeeeed more. ASAP.

***************************
***********************

FINAL THOUGHTS:
I'm generally not a fan of anthologies, as I usually find them a bit overwhelming with so many stories but LOVE IN TRANSIT was perfect! So refreshing with its take on one synopsis, and really, I was quite interested and intrigued to see how it would all pan out. It blew me away! I couldn't wait to dive into the next story, to see what kind of adventure I was in for. Everything about this project is a huge success! The creativity within knows no bounds! *Cheers*
 
 

June 13, 2017

Review: The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo

From Taylor Jenkins Reid comes an unforgettable and sweeping novel about one classic film actress’s relentless rise to the top—the risks she took, the loves she lost, and the long-held secrets the public could never imagine.

Evelyn Hugo is finally ready to tell the truth about her glamorous and scandalous life. But when she chooses unknown magazine reporter Monique Grant for the job, no one in the journalism community is more astounded than Monique herself. Why her? Why now?

Monique is not exactly on top of the world. Her husband, David, has left her, and her career has stagnated. Regardless of why Evelyn has chosen her to write her biography, Monique is determined to use this opportunity to jumpstart her career.

Summoned to Evelyn’s Upper East Side apartment, Monique listens as Evelyn unfurls her story: from making her way to Los Angeles in the 1950s to her decision to leave show business in the late 80s, and, of course, the seven husbands along the way. As Evelyn’s life unfolds through the decades—revealing a ruthless ambition, an unexpected friendship, and a great forbidden love—Monique begins to feel a very a real connection to the actress. But as Evelyn’s story catches up with the present, it becomes clear that her life intersects with Monique’s own in tragic and irreversible ways.

Filled with emotional insight and written with Reid’s signature talent, this is a fascinating journey through the splendor of Old Hollywood into the harsh realities of the present day as two women struggle with what it means—and what it takes—to face the truth.


PURCHASE THIS BOOK  

 Review by April

ARC provided by publisher.

4.5 'A star is always and forever a star.' Stars

Poignant, uplifting and spirited, Taylor Jenkins Reid delivers a spellbinding story within The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo. With story line that is uniquely rich, intricately woven with  complexities, and brimming with scandalous twists and turns of events, it will sweep your off your feet and leave your heart and mind reeling for days. Simply unforgettable. THIS is what women's fiction is all about!!

At 79, it's time to face and reveal the truth of who Evelyn Hugo is, to her very core. This salacious, vibrant Hollywood star of the Golden Era has lived a breathtaking and heartbreaking life from start to finish and now its time the world knows who she really is. From her desperation to leave the pits of Hell's Kitchen, throughout her reigning years of movie-star royalty, tumultuous ups and down to save face and her true love; soul mate and kindred spirit. Her life's cycle has been through hell and back several times. Over and over again. And again.

Through guilt, shame, fear, and marriage after marriage, Evelyn Hugo has come to terms and acceptance about, and with her life. It's time to tell her story, her life's truths. She seeks out Monique Grant, a journalist with Vivant Magazine in NYC to recount her life's story by form of biography... discovering secrets, hidden truths, earth and soul shattering demons will set Monique's life in a tale-spin. The twists and turns in this book are a booknerd's kryptonite!!

Intimidating and self assured Evelyn is a women of her own accord. Through the meetings between Evelyn and Monique, this young and up coming journalist becomes a self assured woman who is learning who she is, how strong she is, and essentially who she is.

I loved the vibrant uniqueness about this book. Delivered unlike any book I've ever read and chronicled in sections that focused on each husband. Entailing from start to finish, the good, bad, ugly, and ups and downs of each relationship all while being woven and tied into the main story. It's kind of like a story within a story of a story. The more complicated and complex the story line progressed into, the harder I fell. There's so much to this story!!! Taylor Jenkins Reid possesses major writing skills! I'm in a state of awe right now. The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo is a literary masterpiece.

A top read of 2017! 


June 12, 2017

Review: My Best Friend's Ex by Meghan Quinn

When I found an eviction notice taped on my apartment door, I had two options: find a comfortable cardboard box to call home, or move in with Tucker Jameson.

Seeing that cardboard makes me feel itchy, I chose the latter. Which shouldn't be that big of a deal Tucker is one of my good friends. And because he's still pining after his ex-girlfriend and I'm trying to finish my nursing degree, there is nothing to worry about in the romance department, making my last semester an easy one to conquer.

Boy, was I wrong.

Rules are set, dinners are made, conversations are had, and a shirtless, swoony roommate walks around in nothing but a pair of black briefs, ruining me for every other man.

Before I know it, I turn into a panting, lust-filled woman begging for Tucker to kiss me, touch me, and show me exactly what is hiding under those briefs.

But with great orgasms, comes great consequences.

Tucker might be my friend and roommate but he’s also my best friend's ex-boyfriend, making him completely off-limits. At least that's what my brain is telling me, my heart is speaking an entirely different language.


 Review by April

ARC provided for an honest review

 5 'It's all so intoxicating. I'm drowning in his presence.' Stars
(me too, me freaking too!)

Let's just take a moment to *bow down* to Meghan Quinn! This book, you guys! I just can't even right now. Seriously, I'm so completely smitten with this one, and while I'm already a huge fan of Quinn's works, My Best Friend's Ex takes the cake, as in, I have a new fave. In my opinion it's her BEST rom-com release to date! This deserves a few SQUEEEEs because I was in Tom Cruise mode again jumping on the proverbial couch. Yeah, THAT couch!

SQUEE!
SQUEEE!
SQUEEEE!

ALL. THE. FEELS. delivered in equal measure will have your heart pounding, swooning, soaring, breaking, and melting as we head back to Binghamton, New York. Kiss your panties goodbye! This laugh out loud rom-com is bursting with a succulent, torturous, flirty slow burn of epic proportions. GAH! I'm talking butterflies, that swoony, lusty "new love" feeling that takes over your body and emotions. I was floating on cloud 9! I couldn't read it fast enough, heck, I couldn't read it slow enough to drag out all those butterfly inducing feels. It's simply perfection.

I briefly met Tucker Jameson in Co-Wrecker, and I wasn't a huge fan of his BUT let me tell you something, my opinion of him has certainly changed as we delve into his story! He is top notch book boyfriend material. Like swoon til you're all out of swoon to swoon with. He's a genuine guy with the body of a god. I'm talking smoking hot, with a heart of gold and a closet of demons from the past to overcome. He's a broken man. *sad panda*

Emma Marks, the quiet and reserved friend from his past has blossomed into quite the firecracker. After a situation arises that ends up with her moving in with Tucker... well long story short, sparks fly! Sizzle and swoon! As sexual tension mounts, the magnetic attraction, and the internal game of push and pull between these two explodes! And it's out of this world hot! Their is no denying their attraction.

Meghan Quinn delivers a full, well balanced, meal deal book of personal growth with a side of turtlenecks and chocolate hostages in My Bestfriend's Ex.
It's everything I love in a book!
Hands down, a top read of 2017!