Showing posts with label 2017 Reviews. Show all posts
Showing posts with label 2017 Reviews. Show all posts

October 17, 2017

Review: Scored by Sloane Howell

He’s a player. But she’s about to score.

Opposites really do attract* as a sassy salesgirl turns a pro athlete’s life upside down in this supercharged standalone novel of seduction from the author of Bossed.


Kelsey: My mom would tell you I’m quite the catch, but since my last boyfriend, I haven’t been dating much. Maybe it’s my rocker style or my lack of filter that intimidates the boys. So I’m pleasantly surprised when Matt Stallworth waltzes into the indie record store where I work and gives as good he gets. Turns out Matt is a professional baseball player, which should mean he’s out of my league. But if he wants to hook up with me, he’s going to have to follow my rules.

Matt: After winning my MVP award, I learned that a guy can get used to having beautiful women practically throw themselves at you everywhere you turn. But everything changes the first time I see Kelsey Martin, and something just clicks. She’s hot, snarky, and whip-smart. I’ve got to see her again. Only problem is, she sees right through all my best moves. And I’m going to have to step up my game to convince Kelsey that I’m playing for keeps.

*And sexy times ensue—for mature audiences.

This standalone novel includes an excerpt from another Loveswept title.


 Review by April

ARC provided via NerGalley for an honest review  

5 'I was jealous of your fingers, getting to touch what I wanted.' Stars

'He's a player.' But you as the reader are about to score by reading this fun and oh so very, very sexy sports romance! Scored is nothing short of bookgasmic perfection! If this book had cheeks, I'd be squishing them so hard right now!! Eeek! It's just too sweet and too addictive for words, deliriously so! I'm a mushy, gushy pile of lustful swoon. Sloane Howell has once again rocked my socks off and hit another of his works out of the park with such a beautiful, well paced home run. This guy really knows how to write swoony AF romance that hits all the "O" notes that gets the butterflies swarming in my belly and my eyes rolling back in such book nerd bliss! Yeah, I guess you could say I kind of really loved this one a whole freaking lot! *le sigh* Everyone likes a dirty, filthy mouth on a hot alpha *wink*

Former player in the sheets and current all-star on the field, Matt Stallworth is a down to earth, dream boat with a heart of gold and a loaded wallet. Ok, he's loaded down *there* too. The one area he is not loaded in is the love-life department, but he has his eyes on one Kelsey Martin. Having been burnt by past love, she's definitely a challenge; but one he's certainly up for!

The thrill of the chase, their magnetic push and pull, the romantically charged swoon and chivalry, their undeniable chemistry combined with laugh out loud humour, wit and banter had me glued to this unputdownable story. Scored had my heart beating double time, soaring, and floating away in euphoric book lovers bliss. Sloane Howell did a fantastic job delivering this story and conveying the emotions involved.

"Oh, you wanna see some holy shit there, Miss Martin? I got some holy shit for you."

Squeeeeeeeeeee!!!!!!!!!!!!

I just can't even when it comes to Sloane Howell, and that's a really, really, really good thing!!!
Scored for the win, a top read of 2017!



October 10, 2017

Review: Sure Thing by Jana Aston

Have you ever set out to have a one night stand with a sexy stranger?
No? I’m the only one?
Just kidding, I would never.
Ever.
Not usually.

But then I figured, why not? My entire life I’ve been good and it’s gotten me nowhere.
No job.
No apartment.
No boyfriend.

I’m owed a little fun, aren’t I? A reward for being good.
Sure, a new pair of shoes would be more appropriate, but Mr. Sexy Stranger is more appealing. And when he speaks—in that British accent—it’s a done deal. Every American woman has a hot British guy fantasy. Well, most do. I haven't taken a poll or anything, but I’m pretty sure it’s a fact.

Except…
You know that saying about best-laid plans?
Good, because I don’t either, but I assume they go awry.
Like my one night stand…


 Review by April 

ARC provided for an honest review 

5 'Sexual Anglophile fetish.' Stars

When it comes to swoony romantic comedies chock full of kink, Jana Aston sure takes the piss! If you loved Wrong, Right, Fling, & Trust, heck all things Jana Aston, you're going to be so smitten and completely utterly chuffed with Sure Thing!! I'm in 100% SQUEE mode over this freaking book; I'm just knackered... obsessed. I really want a horse garage of my own *wink* and to drink in a pub with a funky name.

First off, Sure Thing was definitely a sure thing, but not the sure thing I thought it would be. No, this book was something else entirely. Have I lost you yet? LOL This sure thing was most certainly a one-night stand fo sho *place that lil check mark right here*, with a whole other level of OMFG that kind of took it out of one-night stand territory and into a whole new sexual universe!!! I did not see that coming at all. NOT AT ALL!!! But I squee'd just the same, perhaps louder than I should have and woke the whole house... shit. BUT OMG!!!! No freaking way did that happen!!! Jana flippin' Aston you sneaky lil turd! I <3 and="" br="" turns="" twists="" you="" your="">
I loved this story! Love, love, loved it! The awkwardness of Rose/Daisy/Violet had me in stitches and rolling in laughter, such an innocent sweet soul that girl is. AND THEN there is the downright, utterly sexy and charming sexpot of a British hunk, Jennings *le freaking sigh* He is a total knuckle biter... just thinking of him. Mmm! These two, three, or... four LOL had off the charts sexual chemistry and tension. I just can't even!! It's been quite a while since I've had a grin this huge plastered on my face while reading!

'We fit together, like finding a missing puzzle piece. One that you think you'll never locate and then bam, it's right there in front of you, just waiting to be snapped into place.'

You can't go wrong with Jana Aston, her work is a Sure Thing.


October 5, 2017

Review: Scandalous by L.J. Shen

They call him The Mute for a reason.
Hard, cold and calculated, he rarely speaks.
When he does, it’s with disdain.
When he does, his words aren’t meant for me.
When he does, my stomach flips and my world tilts on its axis.
He is thirty-three.
I am eighteen.
He’s a single dad and my father’s business partner.
I’m just a kid to him and his enemy’s daughter.
He’s emotionally unavailable.
And I am…feeling. Feeling things I shouldn’t feel for him.
Trent Rexroth is going to break my heart. The writing isn’t just on the wall, it’s inked on my soul.
And yet, I can’t stay away.
A scandal is the last thing my family needs. But a scandal is what we’re going to give them.
And oh, what beautiful chaos it will be.


 Review by April 

ARC provided for an honest review 

5 'On your knees, and otherwise.' Stars

Oh holy alpha HOTHOLES! When it comes to the Sinners of Saint series, L.J Shen has me on my knees bowing to her devilishly brilliant literary prowess and begging and panting for more. I have no shame when it comes to this series, like none whatsoever. Defy, Vicious, and Ruckus have all lead and built up to this truly Scandalicious moment; taunting us, and this book definitely deserves a good loud, hard SQUEE!!! Just bend me over already and EFF ME in the you know where! lol GAH!

"I should warn you, Edie. I'm not the prince in this fairy tale. I'm the villain. The poisonous apple, the flame-breathing monster."

Scandalous returns us to the motherland of the Hotholes, it's like a sweet reunion with glimpses of our fave bad boys with their spin and view on all the things and happenings in Trent's life. It's all quite cheeky *wink* and L.J. Shen continues to weave a web of intricately woven story line that continues the saga in their signature raging Hothole alpha fashion! Darkness, dripping in deceit with an edge of sweetness and a promise for more, more, moreeee. MmmMmm!

'... left scars on my ego and blisters on my libido.'

Scandalous needs to be experienced first hand and I'm not giving anything away!! Edie and Trent are just so OMFG for each other! The push to each other's pull, the off the charts sexual tension, the slight tabooness of the age gap. There's just so much to this story, OMG you have NO IDEA! It's raw, emotional and just freaking beautiful, perfect and oh so so so SO sexy! I'll just say that Trent isn't 'just another pretty face.'

"You're mine, and you hate it. You're mine, and I'm not a wave you can ride. I'm the fucking ocean."


Read this sexy AF, hothole AF book now!

October 4, 2017

Review: Fumbled Hearts by Meagan Brandy

After months of refusing, I finally agreed to make the move to Alrick Falls. My family thought it was best - that a new scene would be good for me - and I was sick of having the same conversation.
So here I am, and the plan is simple. Smile through each day and avoid her at all costs.
It's perfect.

Until the cocky quarterback comes into play.

The last thing I want is his crooked grin and dark brown eyes focused on me.
Yet here he is, constantly in my space, pushing me, daring me to care. Telling me what I think and feel, as if he knows.
He doesn't know anything. And I plan to keep it that way.

He’s the persistent playboy who refuses to walk away. I'm the impassive new girl with nothing left to give.

Things are about to get complicated.


 Review by April

ARC provided for an honest review 

5 'Let me wake you up.' Stars

Loaded with all the turmoil and feels of a broken soul, the swoon of young love, and swagger of a high school jock my heart was certainly fumbling head over heels in love with Meagan Brandy's DEBUT novel!! Consumed and mesmerized, I was addicted from the first chapter and couldn't put this book down until it had been devoured. GAH! O.M.G it was simply amazing and holy freaking DEBUT PEOPLE!! DEBUT!!!

Drama, angst, and sexual tension; it was dripping off the pages of Fumbled Hearts and running down my arms all while being balanced so perfect and meticulously with ever evolving emotions, feels... thoughts and character growth with such intricately woven humor, depth, vulnerability, and pacing that just kept dragging me further down the rabbit-hole of euphoric book nerd bliss. This freaking book!!! It sucked me in and wouldn't let me go and I was quite ok with that!

'That boy crept up on me like the fourth shot of Patron, warming my body from the inside out, leaving me feeling weightless and capable. Completely knocking me off my feet.'

I adored everything about Kalani, she's a spitfire, a no hold's bar chick with an air of mystery that gradually comes to light throughout the story and OH BOY! My freaking heart hurt for her!! But she's a tough cookie... and even though cookies sometimes get burnt, their center is still warm and gooey lol... well unless they get burnt too much... then you just need to make more cookie dough *wink*

Nate or Cocky Jock as I like to call him, likes to get down down down down down down in the sack. He's WAS a maaaaaaanwhoreeeee until Kalani came along. SQUEEE!! Yeah this bad boy, turned good guy is swoony AF when it comes to our girl Lolli! He's literally falling to his knees and tripping over his feet to spend time with her. GAH! I love when the bad boy reforms and falls for the girl of the story.

The push & pull, sexual tension, basically everything between Kalani and Nate had me like OMG *insert heart eyes here*! It's most definitely a roller-coaster ride from start to finish and what I'd give to read this book again for the first time, to be able to experience all the feels, emotions and chills of this slow burn romance all over again. God this hangover is going to suck!!!!!!

"We fumbled pretty good, didn't we?"
"Yeah, I guess we did."

October 3, 2017

Review: Bad Reputation by Nicole Edwards

Meet the most wanted players in sports . . . one ridiculously hot alpha male at a time.

Chase: With a nickname like “Sin,” it’s no wonder they call me the bad boy of hockey. Opponents curse me. Fans scream my name—in the arena and in other, much more private places. Penalties or not, I’m not afraid to dish out a little pain. But pleasure? That’s my weakness. And no one knows it better than my best friend, Cassie Desrosiers. I’d have to be blind not to notice her rocking body and teasing grin. So when she invites me along on a trip to Vegas, my curiosity isn’t the only thing that’s aroused.

Cassie: Chase Barrett is a world-class A-hole. As his best friend, I’m allowed to call him on his BS. Who else is going to do it? Certainly not the puck bunnies swooning at every flex of his biceps. Everyone knows that Chase is the love-’em-and-leave-’em type. There’s no such thing as commitment for the king of casual hookups. So why should I care? Maybe because all work and no play makes me a sexually frustrated girl. It’s time to put the hockey stud at my beck and call to good use . . . but after a week in Vegas with Chase, I might never want to go back to the real world.

This sexy standalone novel includes an excerpt from another Loveswept title.


 Review by April 

ARC provided via NetGalley for an honest review 

5 'But I do want you to wear a raincoat if you're going to play in the rain tonight.' Stars

She shoots! She scores! Nicole Edwards nails a hat trick of friends to lovers proportions with Bad Reputation! This book is sizzling with off the charts chemistry, swoon for days and a friendship so fierce and important that Cassie and Chase are too blind to see what's right in front of them.

This book owned me.
Consumed me.
It was perfect! A decadently sweet and sexy sports romance for my inner hockey fan and smutty book nerd self to flail and fan girl over *SQUEE*

While Bad Reputation may be slightly on the tamer side of Nicole Edward's works in comparison to AI and CD, it didn't lack for sexy times and heartfelt swoony moments that are sure to melt your heart; among other things *wink* and make you fist pump the air. 'Cause hello... SCORE! This book was smoking hot and was one that I didn't want to end. Nicole Edwards never fails to deliver a stellar story and introduce you to your next book husband, her fictional men are certainly in a league of their own, and when it comes to Chase Barrett , he is definitely in a league of his own in the NHL. One word: MINE!

Mine, mine, mine!

Friend-zoned from day one, Chase Barrett and Cassie Desrosiers have been the best of friends for 9ish years since meeting at college. This is the story of a proper corporate prude and her bad boy NHL'er best friend who take it to next level. What happens in Vegas doesn't always stay in Vegas and thank f@#* for that!

You won't be alone in the sin bin after devouring this addictive read!!  




October 2, 2017

Review: Without Merit by Colleen Hoover

In Colleen Hoover’s gripping novel, reminiscent of the bestselling works of Liane Moriarty and Jojo Moyes, a young woman decides to reveal the dark secrets of her seemingly-happy family before she leaves them behind, but when her escape plan fails, she must deal with the staggering consequences of telling the truth.


 Review by April

ARC provided by Simon & Schuster Canada

5 "You bury me." Stars

She's back, and my socks have been knocked off! Masterful and ingenious, Colleen Hoover returns with a story unlike any other in her repertoire. It's powerful, edgy, and gripping. You can bow down to the Queen right now, go ahead, you know you want to. I already have a few times while reading this gem, because when it comes to Coho- we are SO not worthy *wink* but we're greedy; always lusting, craving, and begging for more. No doubt about it, Without Merit will be kicking a$$ and taking names! It certainly kicked mine a few times along the journey!!

If you like the colour purple, you're going to love this book. If you've never won a trophy, fret not for you can live vicariously through this book. Score! Quirk and oddities lure you in to the gradual and passive buildup of this relatively peculiar story line. I was engrossed and mesmerized in it's fog of eccentricity, it was like an accident moving in sloooow motion that I couldn't look away from. To be honest for the first hundred or so pages I was in a constant state of WTF and WTF does this all even mean? Like, where are you going with this CoHo?!? BUT, I was thoroughly enamored with all things Voss. Because, well, because how can you not be?! This is sooo straaaaange!

Layer upon layer that continues to build and progress the story along and page after page, Colleen Hoover takes the reader on a whirlwind journey down the rabbit hole of small town Texas where there's a shining darkness within the messages divulged throughout Without Merit, perspective being key. A storm of emotions is brewing, it's unsuspected and ever so quietly and gently it sneaks up on you, however, the results will turn your world upside down and will blow EVERYTHING that is important apart for all to see; all the ugly and beauty that lies within.

Perspective. Don't let it rule you, fool you or ruin you.
Perspective. It's a bitch that can destroy you.

After every storm the sun will shine again if you're willing to open your eyes and heart and let the light in.

Without Merit is one of my top favourite CoHo reads ever!! This book took me on a journey I was not expecting at all. The depth and intricately woven story line with a general 'open you eyes and mind and don't be so quick to judge' message was delivered phenomenally. She definitely is a literary mastermind!! I loved every character just as much as I hated them at times. The quirkiness and perfectly place humour balanced out the serious tone of the story and underlying mental heath theme throughout. I'm simply in awe at the raw talent that Colleen Hoover possesses.

READ. THIS. BOOK! 

September 29, 2017

Review: Love Won by Gillian Jones

McCoy Graves: Public Enemy Number One. The crusher of childhood fairy tales.

McCoy Graves is arrogant. A jerk.

McCoy Graves is my brother’s best friend…and my new boss.

Oh, and did I mention, he’s also the love of my life?

’Cause, yeah, there’s that, too.

My name is Eastlyn Hatfield, and this is a story about our feud.


 Review by April

ARC provided for an honest review 

6 'I don't call it the whirlwind for nothing.' Stars

Gillian Jones is definitely #Winning at Love when it comes to the first installment in her new series! Love Won is comprised of ALL! THE! THINGS! that makes me want to climb inside a book, wrap myself in it's pages, live and breathe the story; to become one with everything there is to it's full capacity... and then some *wink* What I'm trying to say is I'd have this book's babies if it were possible. This book is EVERYTHING I hope and dream to escape into when I dive into a new literary adventure. For me, Love Won was utter perfection from beginning to end, addicting and all consuming, bewitching to the point where it was physically impossible to set the book down until the very last word had been read. Needless to say, I'm highly anticipating and anxiously awaiting the next book in the series.

'Why did I have to meet the one person who didn't want me, like I wanted him, when we were kids? What was the point in that? Why would the universe bother presenting me with such a perfect boy-one who so easily stole my breath and made my heart skip with an erratic beat reserved solely for him whenever our eyes would catch- if, in the long run, I wasn't going to get to keep him?'

Hooked from the first page, the tone was set for the story and OMG cue the giddy SQUEE factor! I knew I was in for quite the adventure very early in. Hilarious, swoony AF moments, blasts from the past, Dear May, and characters you want to claim as your own family, friends and lover *wink* THIS BOOK!!! I swear I have permanent heart eyes now. I've been traipsing around in a lusty book nerd fog of a high since I finished Love Won just waiting for the hangover to hit full force.
Yeah, the hangover is going to suck balls.

'He was a jerk from the beginning but, despite his jerkiness, my heart simply ignored the notifications that my brain had tried to send time and time again. We all have that one boy we never really get over, even if we never actually got under him - McCoy Graves was mine.'

Eastlyn has been deeply, madly, head over heels in love with McCoy since the age of 12. Sure, she's known him longer but he's MINE. Mine, mine, mine! I, myself, have never been so smitten and fallen so hard for a hero in all the books I've ever read. I thought I knew book boyfriend love, lust, and obsession. No. I was so wrong, those were just little crushes, a blip on the radar. McCoy is the ultimate, surpassing all others to be my wedded book husband for all time. Seriously, I can't even when it comes to McCoy! Omg here comes the heart eyes again! SQUEEEeeeeeeeeee-eeeeeep! Be still my fluttering and obsessed heart.

'Because to me, he was the Ross to my Rachel, even though to him I was-and always would be-just little Eastlyn Haffield, his best friend's sister.'

Told in dual POV, with Eastlyn narrating the first portion of the book, while McCoy ends the book with smashing success. The delivery was impeccable and a treat to read, my face leaked with how perfect it all was *sigh* The highs, lows, laughs, swoony feels and tender moments... all fueled by the D! Yeah, you know what I'm talkin' about bahaha! This clever romantic comedy is sure to please the masses!!

'All I have ever wanted to was to truly be his Sprinkles.'.

 Review by Jennifer 

ARC provided for an honest review 

Love wins was a terrific little love story full of humor, steam and sappy love moments. (which I personally love) The sappier the better for me!

McCoy Graves and Eastlyn Hatfield have known one another since they were kids. McCoy is Eastlyns brother’s best friend and has pretty much been like family throughout the years. These characters push & pull to one another was exhilarating but for Eastlyn it definitely bordered on a love/hate feeling.

These two were magnets to one another and couldn’t stay away even if they wanted to. Their story was entertaining and heart warming and I'm certainly hoping for Keaton &Kami book next….hint hint Gillian..lol

“I know they say there are a lot of fish in the sea, but you are my Nemo”
-          Anonymous


 

September 28, 2017

Review: Racer by Katy Evans

A bad boy with something to prove.
A woman with a mission.
The race of their lives.
The love of a lifetime.

I don’t think his parents expected him to live up to his name—Racer Tate—but once he felt the adrenaline rush behind the wheel, he was addicted.

He's the fastest, fiercest driver around.

Scouting new talent brings me to his doorstep...
but his smile sends me to my knees.

The sexy, mysterious Racer Tate is not the kind of man a girl like me falls for. He's secretive, reckless, elusive. But his proximity pushes me beyond reason, and his kiss....

This is our last chance to win, and he is our only hope. I'm supposed to watch him—make sure he doesn't get into trouble. But it's an impossible task. And now the one in heart wrenching, toe-curling, soul-crushing trouble is me. Because when your heart belongs to someone, their truths become your own, and their secrets become your salvation...or your curse.

He says he wants me. He says I'm the One. But he also thinks he'll break my heart, one piece at a time until it's gone.


 Review by April

ARC provided for an honest review 

4 'Claim, conquer, and own' Stars

Katy Evan's delivers an emotional smack-down to her readers once again with another insanely spellbinding, steamy, panty melting, and intense installment in the REAL series by giving us RACER!!!! The one and only son of Remington Tate, our beloved Remy of Real... and Brooke, and, and, and I JUST CAN'T EVEN!

'I want inside her. And I want it slowly. Breathe in her neck. Whisper in her ear. Make her remember the feel of me inside her when she's not with me. I want her to move beneath me, scream my name, let me taste her mouth taste and see the color of each damned moan.'

The apple didn't fall far from the tree when it comes to Racer Tate, he most certainly is a chip off the old block *wink* Like father, like son. The intensity was off the charts as Katy Evans weaves and spins the heck out of the the emotional highs and lows; never slowing, going full throttle around every twist and turn throughout the course of Racer and Lana's story. There are so many layers to this book and they meld so perfectly, creating an ending that made me sit and hug my e-reader for a while. So, so, so perfect!! GAH!

'Rome wasn't built in a day... and nobody said it was easy to fall in love with a Tate.'

Even the bluest of blue eyes have their dark days, not shying away from mental illness, Katy Evans delves deep within Racer to bring his whole being and essence to the forefront for readers to grasp all the "ugly" that lurks within which isn't all that ugly and terrible at all with the right people by your side. Challenges are met and faced for both Racer and his Crasher with an outcome I didn't see coming! You just need to read this book now! Take it for a spin, you won't be disappointed :)

"I want you, your whole being, your entire you."

September 26, 2017

Review: The Blackbird Season by Kate Moretti

Known for novels featuring “great pacing and true surprises” (Kirkus Reviews, starred review) and “nerve-shattering suspense” (Heather Gudenkauf, New York Time bestselling author), New York Times bestselling author Kate Moretti’s latest is the story of a scandal-torn Pennsylvania town and the aftermath of a troubled girl gone missing.

“Where did they come from? Why did they fall? The question would be asked a thousand times…

Until, of course, more important question arose, at which time everyone promptly forgot that a thousand birds fell on the town of Mount Oanoke at all.”

In a quiet Pennsylvania town, a thousand dead starlings fall onto a high school baseball field, unleashing a horrifying and unexpected chain of events that will rock the close-knit community.

Beloved baseball coach and teacher Nate Winters and his wife, Alicia, are well respected throughout town. That is, until one of the many reporters investigating the bizarre bird phenomenon catches Nate embracing a wayward student, Lucia Hamm, in front of a sleazy motel. Lucia soon buoys the scandal by claiming that she and Nate are engaged in an affair, throwing the town into an uproar…and leaving Alicia to wonder if her husband has a second life.

And when Lucia suddenly disappears, the police only to have one suspect: Nate.

Nate’s coworker and sole supporter, Bridget Harris, Lucia’s creative writing teacher, is determined to prove his innocence. She has Lucia’s class journal, and while some of the entries appear particularly damning to Nate’s case, others just don’t add up. Bridget knows the key to Nate’s exoneration and the truth of Lucia’s disappearance lie within the walls of the school and in the pages of that journal.

Told from the alternating points of view of Alicia, Nate, Lucia, and Bridget, The Blackbird Season is a haunting, psychologically nuanced suspense, filled with Kate Moretti’s signature “chillingly satisfying” (Publishers Weekly) twists and turns.


 Review by April

ARC via S&S Canada

3.5 'You can't outrun your own skin.' Stars

Alluring and mysterious, Kate Moretti delves deep into the psyche to deliver the haunting tale of sinister morality within The Blackbird Season. As a first time reader of Moretti's I couldn't wait to dive in, the blurb had me giddy with intrigue for the adventure and thrill that lie ahead. Stepping out of my fictional comfort zone, I dove in with an open mind, welcoming the change... it wasn't all love and rainbows as I did struggle at times, but in the end, overall, I enjoyed the story and appreciated the delivery upon further reflection and digesting my various random thoughts.

Located in Pennsylvania is the small knit town of Mt. Oanoke, a dying mill town, which is the perfect setting for this book. *dun dun dun* It wreaks of scandalous busy bodied townsfolk who have nothing better to do than rub shoulders with the who's who, and spread rumors like nobodies business when the opportunity strikes. There's such a tangled web of deceit and intricately laid out story line in The Blackbird Season, you don't realize you've walked into it before it's way too late. Good and evil come out to play with your mind, that's the thriller aspect of this book, to me anyway. I wasn't spooked in a scary, typical sense, but more in a mindf*ck sort of way. Totally, completely, GAME OVER.

Told from four POV and various time frames which was a bit confusing at first, but once I'd sorted it out it eventually fell into place as I got further along into the story. Lies, deceit, hidden truths, the dramatics of each characters personal lives as well as the overall mysteriousness propel the story along at a pace that will keep the reader captivated enough to keep turning the pages. It's dark, bewitching *wink* and 'you never make promises to the dead that you don't intend to keep.

Truth. What is it really?
Perception is key.
 
 
 

September 21, 2017

Review: Dear Bridget, I Want You by Penelope Ward & Vi Keeland

From the New York Times Bestselling authors of Stuck-Up Suit and Mister Moneybags, comes a sexy new standalone novel.

Dear Bridget,
I’m writing this letter because it’s highly doubtful I’ll ever garner the courage to say this to your face.
So, here goes.
We’re totally wrong for each other. You’re the proper single mum with a good head on your shoulders. I’m just the carefree British doctor passing through town and temporarily living in your converted garage until I head back to England.
But here’s the thing… for some bloody reason, I can’t stop thinking about you in very inappropriate ways.
I want you.
The only reason I’m even admitting all of this to you right now is because I don’t believe it’s one-sided. I notice your eyes when you look at me, too. And as crass as I appear when we’re joking around about sex, my attraction to you is not a joke.
So, what’s the purpose of this note? I guess it’s a reminder that we’re adults, that sex is healthy and natural, and that you can find me just through the door past the kitchen. More specifically, it’s to let you know that I’m leaving said door cracked open from now on in case you’d like to visit me in the middle of the night sometime.
No questions asked.
Think about it.
Or don’t.
Whatever you choose.
It’s doubtful I’ll even end up sliding this letter under your door anyway.
--Simon


 Review by Jennifer
  
ARC received for an honest review 

Oh My Gosh! I absolutely adored this book! It was such a cute love story with a tad bit of somberness to it. I have been in a little bit of a book funk lately and I was worried about reading this while I was feeling that way because I am a HUGE Vi Keeland & Penelope Ward fan and I didn’t want my slump to rub off on this book. I am pleasantly please to say that it totally did the opposite, it brought me out of my funk and made me feel all giddy again.

These characters are totally loveable! The characters are hilarious! Their banter was so entertaining, it had me cracking up. Just thinking about some of it now makes me laugh. Simon was so swoon worthy and just perfect! He will steal your heart right from the beginning ladies along with your panties too if you’re not careful. Everything that came out of his mouth was either naughty or funny and Bridget well let’s just say she was no damsel in distress, she could definitely hold her own.

“You’re welcome to climb me, luv, but be careful, some trees have thick wooden branches and you could get poked.”

These two were the best couple. Probably one of my favorite book couples that I have come across in awhile. I never wanted their love story to end! There is a little twist to this story that I never saw coming and I was pretty shocked and you will be too but it tied in great!

This is definitely a book you wanna grab and clear your schedule for so that you can just sit down and consume it. It’s a perfect little love story!

“It’s true that the greatest risk may be not taking one. But a risk is taking a chance when you have the potential to gain or lose something in the future.”