Showing posts with label 2017 Reviews. Show all posts
Showing posts with label 2017 Reviews. Show all posts

August 15, 2017

Review: Wish You Were Here by Renee Carlino

Charlotte has spent her twenties adrift, floating from interest to interest, job to job, and guy to guy, searching for a spark but never quite finding it. All she knows is that she won’t discover it working as a waitress at a pies-and-fries joint in Los Angeles or living with her fun but aimless best friend in a tiny apartment in the Arts District.

Then Charlotte collides with Adam, a gorgeous and soulful painter who seems just as lost as she feels. Their instant connection turns into a midnight drink… and a whirlwind night of champagne, Chinese food, and the kind of conversation that only happens in romantic comedies. But the next morning, Adam gives Charlotte the cold shoulder, leaving her confused and hurt—and wondering if the few odd moments between them the night before were red flags in disguise.

Months later, Charlotte hasn’t been able to shake Adam, so she decides to find out what happened the morning after their magical night together. This fateful decision rewrites their wild love story, but what Charlotte doesn’t know yet is that the ending has already been written.


 Review by April

ARC provided for an honest review '

5+++++ 'You marked my soul.' Stars.

Poignantly raw, tragically beautiful, and slightly quirky, Renee Carlino delivers a powerful blow that knocked the breath out of me and stole every last tear I had to give with Wish You Were Here. I'm in utter awe and shock at the capacity of how much this story was able to affect me; wreck, shatter and ultimately destroy me, all while being such an uplifting and feel-good journey for the soul and spirit. Renee Carlino has outshone herself in this work, showcasing her strength and stellar writing with by far her best work to date! This book is simply EVERYTHING! My newly minted Top #1 fave of Renee Carlino's works. #
imsorrywillbutistillloveyoutoo

When a person is ready to fall in love, it happens fast. There's no looking back or in between to find the empty space where water can put itself or freeze, to crack the two of you apart. There is no void. There's no weighing of options or analysis of pros and cons. Everything is reduced to feelings and emotions and actions that don't need explanations or justifications. I felt it with Adam that first night, if only for a second as we stood outside of my building. It doesn't always feel like this, it doesn't always feel easy or right, so when it does feel this way, you have to seize it. Love is a wordless secret; it's an inside joke. Only the two of you have to understand it.

A bit lost in life, a drift in matters of the heart, and unknowingly exceptional at self-sabotage, Charlotte Martin is in a major rut. Her story is an emotional roller coaster ride from start to finish; one of love, loss, soul mates, and discovering her self worth and just how precious life really is. With an amazing best friend and supportive family at her side every step of the way, she's never alone even when she thinks she is. Many lessons can be learned from her inner will and strength and it was to easy to fall head over heels in love with every single aspect of this story.

So many beautiful things happen between the covers of the unforgettable book, ones that need to be experienced first hand. If you read only one book this year, do yourself a huge favor and dive head first into Wish You Were Here!

'I just wanted to say, I hope you know how lucky you are.'

August 8, 2017

Review: Blue Balls by RC Boldt

BLUE BALLS

Truth: A painful condition caused by a prolonged state of sexual arousal without release.
Myth: Only affects males.

SARAH

I’m beyond frustrated with the man who’s left me high and very far from dry. Multiple times. But, somehow, even though I’m not interested in a relationship, Mr. Tall-Dark-and-Handsome keeps me coming back for more—one crazy, sexual debacle after the next.

Come hell or high water, the stars will align, and the release will be out of this world.

JACK
I’m captivated with the woman who’s left me sixty-nine shades of blue, and she's only in this for one thing. The first time, I blew it—and not in the good way—but I’m going to ensure we finally see it through. I need to put an end to this “plague” of sexual calamities and prove to Sarah that we can have more.

It's time to grab the universe by the balls and show it who's boss. 


 Review by April

ARC provided for an honest review

4.5 'Panty Drowning!' Stars.

With quirky, fun covers and one of a kind titles that are out grab your attention, RC Boldt quickly became detected by my book-nerd radar! A little Clam Jam here, a few Blue Balls there, yeah, you know you're in for a good time and more than a few laughs along the way! I adore RC Boldts' refreshing take on rom-com, you have to experience it first hand,  it truly is a unique literary roller coaster ride of uncontrollable laughter from start to finish. Strap in baby, those balls are about to become a few shades of blue!

From vagina monologues to witty banter and unbelievably intelligent chocolate wrappers, this book serves up some of the best internal banter that I've ever come across, crass, hilarious and just downright honest and realistic... normal people stuff but in a book and funny. Just because it is.

'At the sight of the blue flowers inside, the confusion lining her features is clear. Because these particular flowers aren't anything to write home about in the least. In fact, they're pretty plain.
Leaning in, I say softly, "They're globularia corifolia. Or more relatably called..." I pause, waiting for her eyes to lock onto mine to finish.'
"Blue Balls."

Now, I'm not going to lie. This book almost gave me a case of blue balls because of Sarah and Jack's Blue Balls. I mean, SERIOUSLY!! Just when I thought they'd finally be able to seal the mo-fo'in' deal... uhhh, nah, bro. Not today!  Like a serious case of -you lose- 'please play again'. BUT! At least with aaaaaaaaaaaaaaall THAT! They get to play over and over and OVER, time and time again! Oh YESSSS! Jack and Sarah definitely "got it goin' on" and play they will. *wink*

Denial ain't just a river in Egypt. A little baggage to work though gives the story that bit of meaty angst we all love and crave. With roles reversed, it's fun to watch this play out throughout the story while we all chase the Happily Ever After together.

Blue Balls is hands down one of the best romantic comedies that I've ever read! It has everything that I love, realistic characters who ooze -the- sizzle & swoon factor, laugh til you almost puke wit and banter, a magnetic pull and angst ridden push, loads of sexy times and just an over all entertaining read that you don't want to end.

'Jack doesn't taste sweet and indulgent like my chocolate. He tastes like something far more decadent, far more delicious, and far more addicting. Jack tastes like love.'

August 7, 2017

Review: Twisted Twosome by Meghan Quinn

Racer McKay is a broody bastard.

From the moment I met him, he’s been rude, irritable, and unbearable. And worse? He's broke.

A contractor working to remodel my parents pool house for extra cash, he stomps around in those clunky construction boots with his tool belt wrapped around his narrow waist, and a chip on his shoulder.

Racer McKay is also infuriatingly . . . sexy as hell. I want to take that pencil tucked behind his ear, and draw lazy lines slowly up and down his body all the while wanting to strangle him at the same time.

We try to stay out of each other’s way . . . that is until I have no other option but to ask for his help.

But what I don’t realize is he needs me just as much as I need him. I have money he’s desperate for, and he holds the key to making my dreams come true.

Our pranks turn from sarcastic banter, to sexual tension and lust-filled glances. Bickering matches quickly morph into slow burn moments. We’re hot, we’re cold. We push and pull. I need him, I don’t want him. We’re on the verge of combusting with an agreement dangling dangerously between us. Neither one of us can afford to lose one another and yet, we’re finding it quite hard to decipher the line that rests between love and hate.

*Twisted Twosome is a stand alone romantic comedy.
 


 Review by April

ARC provided for an honest review 

5 'I can't imagine she would want me tickling her chin with my dick.' Stars.

It's time to get Twisted! Meghan Quinn returns with another fabulous, highly addictive, laugh out loud until you pee your pants read! Twisted Twosome is on -TVRN Marta level- of LOLs, which is my absolute favourite kind, and let me tell you this book had me in stitches!! Quirky, dirty, a little bit pervy, a whole hella HOT and enough swoon factor to make the ole knickers go *POOF*. It's truly, completely, 100% "ineffable" *wink*

Racer McKay and Georgiana Westbrook, you really can't get more opposite than these two. One comes from a life of refined luxury while the other is struggling to make ends meet. They think it matters in ways that shouldn't, and individually they struggle in ways they shouldn't, ways that don't 'ruin' them as a person. GD the struggle is real with these two lol. What I love about Meghan Quinn's works is that she has this truly awesome way of infusing her stories to balance the over the top hilarity and real worldliness, so that everything just comes together to mesh so flawsomely.

The sexual tension between them is carnal.
Their attraction is undeniable.
They deny themselves and taunt and torture each other, driving one another to the edge of insanity  OMG
Its such a sweet and hilarious adventure!!

"Staring at my dick, Georgie? If you want to see if that bad, just ask. I'm not opposed to driving with dick out. It's refreshing in a convertible especially. Cocks like feeling the win in their head as well." I tap her quad with my finger. "Here's an idea. We put the top down. I unleash my cock and you push your dress down so your tits are out and I blow down this highway. You never know that total freedom is until you feel the wind in your nipple hair."

From the witty banter, to sexy, flirty, sobering and heartbreaking and breathtaking moments, everything combined ties this story together into a pretty little bow of a Happily Ever After & LOLs making it one of my top fave MQ books EVER and top reads of 2017!

August 4, 2017

Review: Falling Into the Black by Lauren Runow

Ten years ago we said goodbye.

I left the world I knew to create a new life for myself. Away from the lies. Away from the pain.

It was all going as planned until a friend asked for help with her club. The business was liberating. The company was intoxicating.

Two masked men became my euphoria. One was a player deep in the game. A teacher both intimately and figuratively.

The other was a quiet director. A man who tempted me with his stares and set me on fire with his dark whispers.

His secrecy excited me, bringing me to levels I've never imagined. I thought we were playing a game, but little did I know he knew exactly who I was.

I just wish I figured out his true identity before I fell for his best friend.


* Falling Into the Black is a standalone novel with an HEA.


 Review by April

ARC provided for an honest review 

5 'Search the world for you.' Stars

Oozing with several degrees of hot, sexual passion and dripping with tantalizing angst, Lauren Runow hit the freakin' alarm with Falling Into the Black! THIS BOOK IS OFF THE CHARTS HOT! All that hotness combined with Lauren's ability to emotionally shred her characters to pieces is bar none! To feel like you know every little tiny thing that makes them tick, it just makes the whole experience that much MORE; personal, relate-able, and overall enjoyable.

This emotional second chance romance with a bit of a love triangle angle to it had my heart pounding and knees knocking in anticipation for all the twists and turns that would occur and turn my world upside down. I mean, LOOK AT THAT COVER!! It screams turmoil and sadness! GAH!

Fast forward 10 years, Angie/Evangeline, is still at times blindsided by haunts of the past, baggage that could destroy a weaker person. Trying to constantly move forward in life can be a battle when thinking of everything you've lost and left behind.

Little did she know how much her life would change when she agreed to help oversee Club Bridge, a world where two men reawaken her zest and zeal for love and life.

"Here we are, at the starting line. It's not a race, but rather a marathon, and I'm going to love you till the very end. I promise you that."




August 3, 2017

Review: Unfinished Business by Carina Adams

The Bastards of Boston live in a world most don't understand. They follow their own rules, only accountable to each other, the innocents they protect, and the people they couldn't save.

As president of the Bastards MC, Robert Doyle is the man behind it all. It’s his responsibility to keep his club safe, to be the smartest man in the room, and be ten steps ahead of everyone. He’d give everything he had, and sell his soul to the devil, to protect the ones he loves.

Until Rocker comes face-to-face with the pain he thought he’d buried. Old wounds are ripped open. Revenge consumes him. Once again he’s the teenager desperate to avenge his daughter’s murder and nothing else matters.

He calls me his angel, but the halo I wear caught fire a long time ago. There is no line I won’t cross, no law I won’t break. I’ll do whatever it takes to save him. If the road to hell is paved with good intentions, I’ll happily burn.

When past and present collide, we’re in for one hell of a bumpy ride.


 Review by April 

ARC provided for an honest review 

 5 'It's when love and hate collide.' Stars

Passionate, gritty, and emotionally gripping! Carina Adams returns to her writing roots and delivers  one hell a phenomenal story! MC baby!!! I knew Rocker's story would rock my world, but what I didn't realize was that it would turn it upside down- over and over again. Holy emotionally crippling baggage, batman! That was one INTENSE ride! And because it's Rocker I'd take that ride over and over again *wink*

'You can run with the lies from your past. But you can't hide from the truth forever.'

Unfinished Business is a book that will stick with you long after you've read the last page. The journey that Rocker and Cris have been on; emotionally, physically, mentally- is definitely one that will stick with you. Abuse, heart-ache, many obstacles to endure and overcome, while they've survived, they're not left without scars and reminders of the battles they've fought and won.

'The need to protect her was pure instinct. One damaged person shielding another. I'd move heaven and hell to make sure she was safe.'

This book is one that I couldn't read fast enough, yet couldn't read slow enough. Absorbed and completely drawn into the story, I breathed and lived every emotional facet of the story line. Carina Adams has outdone herself with his book and has blown my mind! Hands down my top fave work of hers to date!

A must read of 2017! It's powerful and raw! Don't miss out on this Bastards of Boston MC!! 

July 30, 2017

Review: Sapphire by JA Low

An unconventional love is tested to its limits in this completely immersive dark ménage suspense, for fans of JL Perry and Pepper Winters.

Mateo is used to being in the spotlight, he craves it in everything he does . . . except when it comes to his love life - that is firmly in the closet.

Tomas shuns the spotlight, the one he was born into, he wants nothing to do with it or his high-flying family who now reject him for his choices in love.

But Tomas' and Mateo's carefully constructed lives are turned inside out when they discover a beautiful, battered woman on their doorstep. The woman with the sapphire eyes has no memory of who she is or how she got there. Can they help her remember before the men who are after her find her first?

The first standalone book in the BRATVA JEWELS series from the author of the DIRTY TEXAS books, JA Low.

 Review by April

ARC received for an honest review

4 'But this is my fate, there is no happily ever after for me.' Stars

Deliciously addictive and dark, JA Low shines in the darkness of her new Bratva Jewels series while staying true and authentic to her erotic style that her readers have come to expect!

Hot from cover to cover, prepare to have your panties, twisted, lit and wrung over and over again in this suspenseful, unconventional love affair! The first in the Bratva Jewels series offers a little bit of everything for the romance lover. Sizzle, swoon, and fall head over heels in love with Mateo and Tomas as they fall for Zoe. From the highest of highs to the darkest pits of plot hell, its fabulous, addictive, and I could not put the book down. GAH!

There's so much depth and so many layers, and complexities within Sapphire, it's all so astounding and brilliant! Told from multiple alternating points of view, be prepared to swoon and be crushed all in one fell swoop. Bratva, my dear. Bratva. They're there and they're watching you!


July 26, 2017

Review: Forbidden by Jodi Ellen Malpas

Annie has never experienced the 'spark' with a guy-that instant chemistry that renders you weak in the knees. That is, until a night out brings her face to face with the dangerously sexy and mysterious Jack. It's not just a spark that ignites between them. It's an explosion. Jack promises to consume Annie, and he fully delivers on that promise.

Overwhelmed by the intensity of their one night together, Annie slips out of their hotel room. She is certain that a man who's had such a powerful impact on her must be dangerous. She has no idea that he belongs to another. That he's forbidden.


 Review by Jennifer 

ARC provided via the Publisher for an honest review 


Whoa Jodi Ellen Malpas has done it again! I didn’t think she could make me love a character more than Jesse Ward from This Man but she sure as hell has gone and done it. I might even like Jack a tad bit more than Jesse.....maybe!

Now, Jodi starts this book off with a little bit of a warning for those readers who are sensitive on some subject matters but if you’re like me any book that comes with a warning (even a little one) I just have to have. The warning just makes me want to read it more..lol So I was rubbing my hands together feeling giddy as I was diving into this one.

Annie & Jack meet by chance one night and their chemistry is OFF THE CHARTS. I mean fog up your kindle and grab yourself a fan off the charts. Their attraction to one another is palpable. They both feel it right away and I as a reader felt it, but neither one is interested in acting on it, in fact it is forbidden for either of them to act upon it. Now, you know anything that is forbidden just makes you want it more right?


“He is just to f**king handsome for his own good. And, Undoubtedly, my good, too.”

This story will have you questioning your morals and asking yourself could this really happen? Is there really that one soulmate out there for everyone? What would you do to be with the one you love? What are you willing to give up to be with the one you love? Those are all valid questions for this story.

Your emotions will be all over the place. (mine certainly were) BUT my heart was always in one place right from the start.

Forbidden has humor, sex, great characters, drama and love. All the things that make a great story. Jodi did not hold anything back writing this one, she brought out all of the feelings and conflict and it was nice to read a story where nothing was sugarcoated.

Phenomenal love story and definitely one of my favorites!


July 25, 2017

Review: Exploited by A. Meredith Walters

In this pulse-pounding novel from the bestselling author of Butterfly Dreams, a vigilante hacker plays a seductive game with the agent who’s chasing her online—and sharing her bed in real life.

At first glance, I’m nothing out of the ordinary. I am a daughter. A sister. A friend. When you look at me you won’t see anything that warrants suspicion. I don’t look like a criminal.

My name is Hannah Whalen, but most people know me as freed0mov3rdr1v3, or “Freedom Overdrive”—one of the world’s most prolific and notorious hacktivists. My goal—my purpose—is to shed light on the evil that lurks behind the corporate and government lies we have been force-fed for too long.

My story begins with the best possible intention. Devoting my life to exposing the corrupt. The dishonest. The unethical. For that, they label me a cyber-terrorist. Wanted by the FBI, I’ve always been one step ahead.

Until I fell in love.

Because I’m sleeping with the man who’s hunting me. And he has no idea that I am his prey. Now I have to decide what’s more important: my freedom or my heart.


 Review by April

ARC received for an honest review 

5 'I needed the lies to remind me of the truth.' Stars

A. Meredith Walters brings her 'A-game in fiction' to the table with Exploited! This jaw dropping, pulse pounding, heart stopping suspenseful romance will have your mind spinning, and leave you gasping for your next breath. It's insanely intense and beyond addictive! A fantastic start to the Zero Day Series, which is sure to obliterate the senses!

I'm thrilled to have the villain be the unsuspected little heroine of the story! It's such a refreshing twist to be lured and drawn in, completely captivated and charmed by the narcissistic bewitching heroine who just so happens to be a very popular cyber criminal in the underground hacker world. She has her reasons, they seem legit... enough. Freed0m's cause is for the greater good, after all.

Exploited follows the twisted and blurred lines of love and necessity through a tangled and complex web of lies and deceit laid down by Hannah Whelan between her and her main interest, Mason Kohler, who just so happens to be the FBI agent assigned to her case at the bureau. Coincidence? I think not! Emotions will soar, and hearts will break in this game of cat and mouse where everyone is two steps ahead of each other and always 1one step behind. Who will win? I HAVE NO IDEA!!

EVERYTHING about this story line has me so ramped up and giddy!! I can't contain myself, it's almost too much. Almost! Straight from the preface I was hooked, absolutely intrigued beyond measure. The tone was set and kept throughout the entire book, an intensity that at times was almost too much!! I couldn't read it fast enough. More, more, MORE! I needed to get to the bottom of everything NOW, well, five minutes ago would have been better for my nerves but OMG!!! I loved every single thing about this book!! Every minute detail and character is pertinent to the overall story.

Exploited is a true roller coaster ride for the emotions and senses through every twist and turn of the plot! I cannot wait to get my hands on the next book!

July 24, 2017

Review: Beautiful Mistake by Vi Keeland

A sexy new standalone from #1 New York Times bestselling author, Vi Keeland

The first time I met Caine West was in a bar.
He noticed me looking his way and mistakenly read my scowling as checking him out.
When he attempted to talk to me, I set him straight—telling him what I thought of his lying, cheating, egomaniacal ass.
You see, the gorgeous jerk had wined and dined my best friend--smooth talking her into his bed, all along failing to mention that he was married.
He deserved every bit of my tongue-lashing and more for what he'd done.
Especially when that lazy smile graced his perfect face in response to my rant.
Only it turned out, the man I'd just told off wasn't the right guy.
Oops. My mistake.
Embarrassed, I slunk out without an apology.
I was never going to see the handsome stranger again anyway, right?
That’s what I thought…until I walked into class the next morning.
Well, hello Professor West, I’m your new teaching assistant.
I’ll be working under you…figuratively speaking.
Although the literal interpretation might not be such a bad thing—working under Professor West.
This was going to be interesting…

 Review by Jennifer

ARC provided for an honest review 


I devoured this one in a matter of twenty-four hours. Once I started it I couldn’t put it down. I totally loved these characters. Rachel is feisty, sassy and wasn’t afraid to tell it like it is sometimes. I loved that her character was real. Her thoughts & feelings were all accurate and very understandable. Caine was awesome, he was sarcastic, bossy and a little crass at times. He certainly had some alpha male tendencies to him and did I mention that he is Rachel’s Professor? Yeah, he is!

I loved how even though Rachel & Caine having any type of relationship was forbidden it wasn’t the sole focus of the storyline. This book had a great plot and an amazing romance story to it. I loved everything about it!

Beautiful Mistake has humor, steam, sweetness and love all rolled into one amazing book! This is definitely one of Vi Keeland’s best writings in my opinion and that’s saying a lot since I love all of her books pretty much. She has become one of my go to Authors. I know that I can one click her books without even reading the synopsis and know that I am going to receive an amazing read!