Showing posts with label 2017 Reviews. Show all posts
Showing posts with label 2017 Reviews. Show all posts

November 16, 2017

Review: Prince Roman by CD Reiss

From NY Times Bestselling author, CD Reiss, love comes in the most ordinary and most forbidden places.

Rules for my new job:
1) Do not have sex with a man in the office (again).
2) Do not break Rule #1

I’m playing it cool, clean, and professional…until I meet Roman Bianchi. He’s not an insecure nerd or an ego-hole like the other kings of Silicon Valley. He’s charming and handsome. He’s fun, funny, and smart.

He’s also in the office across the hall.

Two broken rules waiting to happen.
I can’t lose this job over some guy.
But Roman’s not just some guy. Under that suit and cocky smile, he’s a prince.


 Review by April 

ARC provided for an honest review

4 'I wanted to be her stability, not her chaos.' Stars

A little nerdy and a whole lot dirtaaaaay! Things are getting hot in SV and I'm not talking about the temperature rising *wink* I really enjoyed this novella by C.D. Reiss, her books and words pack a powerful punch that always leave a lasting impression, making me crave more, more, moreeeeee!!

Prince Roman takes us on a little forbidden inter-office flingaroo, which is highly frowned upon due in part to the company's no-fraternizing policy. But hey, forbidden is where it's at for this reader! I was introduced to Raven who is not new to office shenanigans, if you catch my drift. She's fierce,  intelligent, and has a goal of permanence at her new place of employment which equals no office 'D'.  That's all fine and dandy until her eyes land on Roman Bianchi, the hot AF lawyer who's office is across the hall from hers.

But...
Office D is ok if it happens outside the office & no body finds out...
The thing is... someone is always watching...
So scandalous.

The risks you take when you find the one, what you'll give up to make it work. GD, Roman Bianchi know what he wants, what his heart wants, and he won't give it up for his lifelong dreams.

"If I wanted you, I had to. And I want you."


November 14, 2017

Review: He Loves Me Knot by RC Boldt

Sometimes love needs a second chance…

I never looked back after skipping out on my own wedding, even if it did leave me estranged from most of my family. Eight years later, I have the life I’ve always wanted. As an advertising account executive, my world is damn near perfect.

Until I come face-to-face with my past. With the man I once loved. The man who holds my future in his hands. The man who’s hell-bent on getting even with me for leaving him at the altar.

Even with all the unfinished business between us, I still love Knox Montgomery. The only problem?

He loves me…KNOT.


 Review by April

ARC provided for an honest review 

5 'Falling captive to the powerful euphoria of our love.' Stars.

Well, Bless your heart, perhaps I should bless my own heart because this book put me through the ringer!! And I loved every emotional, laugh out loud, heart breaking... nail biting, soul crushing, petal plucking, and well, just every consuming moment that came my way. Gah! RC Boldt penned one hell of a book here!! I've got stars and love in my eyes after devouring this beauty.

Hands down, He Loves Me...Knot is one of the best second chance romances that I've ever lucked into reading. Having read a couple of the authors previous works and loved them I jumped head first into this one blind. Initially I had some conflicting feelings over characters and the direction I thought the story was going... phew, thank goodness that didn't happen because I'm not sure how a menage would work out in a second chance romance. Bahaha.. my simple solution for everything in fiction that includes two guys- automatic menage scenario! Woot! That's one way to add spice to any situation lol but alas, Becket is Emma Jane's BWOB(best friend without benefits).

"Once upon a time, we were in love. Then I found out he didn't really love me and I left."


Emma Jane Haywood left her fiance, Knox Montgomery, standing at the altar eight years ago. Plagued by a broken heart and the boy she never got over this is the tale of her life starting a new. A lot can change in eight years, and at times absolutely nothing changes when you're heart is still pining for the boy you left back in Mobile. This is a story of fate and trust, one of mending all the hurts and opening your heart back up to the one you walked away from... because eight years later the one you walked away from unexpectedly walks in and is your new boss. Let the games begin!!!

"When the past knocks on your door, it's because there's unfinished business."

 

November 13, 2017

Review: The Other Brother by Meghan Quinn

I got the call. The dreaded call every child fears. My dad wasn’t well, and the man who had always been my everything needed me.

There was only one thing to do; pack up and head back to my hometown. I had finally made my dream life in the city with the great job and loving boyfriend. But was there really a choice not to go?

I found a wonderful job, a quaint house to rent, my boyfriend was working on joining me in Binghamton, and my favorite pizza place was only miles away. Life was good.

Until I met my neighbor.

It's been three years since I'd seen Aaron Walters, and my God is he all kinds of sexy gorgeous. Figures. He was supposed to be my forever, the man I grew old with, but he had different plans. How can a man who ripped my heart apart still trip me up? How can he make me still want him now more than ever?

I’m tempted, I’m drawn toward him, I’m completely and utterly unaware that I’m dating his biological brother.

Now two men own my heart. The question is, which brother will I choose?


 Review by April

ARC provided for an honest review 

5 'Ho, Ho, Ho my God.' Stars

Once again, another one of Meghan Quinn's sexy alpha book-men has bamboozled their way into my heart. It's quite alright, I wouldn't have it any other way, really. Oh, Smalls... *le freaking sigh!*

Whenever I see the word Binghamton I get a flutter in my chest and a smile on my face. It always feels like I'm going home, whisked away to that happy place known for alpha men and a love so swoonful; just the flip of a page away. I've grown quite fond of this town and series of standalones through it's motley crew of characters, and lessons of the heart.

The Other Brother will forever own a piece of my heart. I've been waiting for Aaron a.k.a. Smalls story for quite a while and HOT dayum it was well worth the wait! As always, Meghan Quinn's brand of comedic relief through heartfelt stories is intricately infused throughout her latest work. The sweet with the salty angst and heartbreaking moments I've come to love have a way of balancing perfectly while making the reader laugh their butt off while shedding a few tears along the way. I'm not sure how she continues to do it book after book, but I'm not complaining one little bit; all the feels and emotions that kill me while giving me the best book highs... and worst hangovers.

This is a story of soul mates being torn apart, hearts broken, a man's spirit shattered, broken all because of... the other brother. You think you know what kind of book you're going to be diving into, but you have no clue. This book is just all sorts of EPIC. A twist on a second chance romance like none I've read before! What a reading adventure and experience this was for the heart, mind, and soul. Laughter and tears and maybe a little cover licking and humping because, well, HELLO... THAT COVER THOUGH!!! A top read of 2017!!


Review: Hooking Up by Helena Hunting

Amalie Whitfield is the picture of a blushing bride during her wedding reception–but for all the wrong reasons. Instead of proclaiming his undying love, her husband can be heard, by Amalie and their guests, getting off with someone else. She has every reason to freak out, and in a moment of insanity, she throws herself at the first hot-blooded male she sees. But he’s not interested in becoming her revenge screw.

Mortified and desperate to escape the post-wedding drama, Amalie decides to go on her honeymoon alone, only to find the man who rejected her also heading to the same tiny island for work. But this time he isn’t holding back. She should know better than to sleep with someone she knows, but she can’t seem to resist him.

They might agree that what happens on the island should stay on the island, but neither one can deny that their attraction is more than just physical.

Filled with hilariously scandalous situations and enough sexual chemistry to power an airplane from New York City to the South Pacific, Hooking Up is the next standalone, laugh-out-loud romantic comedy from Helena Hunting, the New York Times bestselling author of the Pucked series and Shacking Up.


 Review by April

ARC provided for an honest review

ALL THE STARS! EVERY SINGLE GD ONE OF THEM! cue the fireworks because this book is  deserving of a sparkly light show!

Hooking Up can simply be described with one word: EPIC! I fell hard and fast for Helena Hunting's latest novel. All the sizzle, all the swoon, this one had my heart melting and left me with stars and a few tears in my eyes. By the third chapter I was beyond smitten and in book nerd heaven; total utter book bliss was happening!! Hooking up was everything and so much more than I'd ever expected, hoped or dreamed for when I tapped open this book. It was too easy to devour, chock full of so many fun and sexy times, and with emotions at every flip of the page...GAH! Now I'm left sulking, wanting more! I didn't want it to ever end. Pure 100% Epic! Hooking Up is what book hangovers are made of!!!... and what bbf's should aspire to be *wink*

What should be one of the best days of Amalie's life quickly turns into one of the most heartbreaking and embarrassing scandals to happen in her life, on her wedding day of all days. Her newly dubbed douche bag husband, getting a blowie for all the guests to hear, and it wasn't the bride providing her groom's release. Holy wow. Ok, that's certainly one way to start a book and grab my attention! This is just the icing on the cake because it gets so much more epic and jaw dropping as the story line moves along, one hilarious and mistimed chain of events, one after the other. I ate it up, all of it. The angsty drama, yeah, top up my glass cause I'm enjoying this waaaaaay to much!

I love when the heartbroken and jilted bride goes on her honeymoon alone because you know what that means my smut loving book friends! Lots and lots of hot a$$ mf'n sexy times are to be had! And boy are they had. Lubed up and buzzing away, Bora Bora is the place to be *wink* with a Hottie Hook Up things are taking a turn for the better... or are they? Hah. You know they are! Reality can wait a few weeks.

I lace my hands behind my head and lean back against the pillows. "Have at it, baby." She snorts. "Could you be any more cocky?" "I don't know, you're the one who's full of mine, you tell me." "You should shut up and just lie there and look good so you don't ruin this for me."

Mr. Hottie Hook Up, sexcapades, the drama waiting to be dealt with back in NY, feelings and love towards another man can't come into play on this solo honeymoon of heartbreak but, ya know... shit happens LOL. The internal battle of right and wrong rages on.

'I came three times. During sex. That's like being told unicorns are real. And then actually seeing one.'


I cannot gush enough about how much I love this book, it's characters and my new author crush on Helena Hunting! I'd have this books babies if it were possible but ya know... paper cuts and stuff lololol oooooook but seriously though, READ THIS BOOK!!!! You'll find out quick what my obsession is all about!

'... and then is all hits me, like a huge cock in the face.'
 
 

November 4, 2017

Review: My Week With The Bad Boy by: Brooke Cumberland & Lyra Parish

Never trust a man who answers the front door wearing nothing more than a pair of low-cut jeans and a panty-melting smirk.

That should’ve been my first sign.

I write about guys just like him for a living—sexy and charming, yet reluctant to get into a serious relationship. His body screams sex appeal, but his condescending personality makes him a classic fuckboy.

And I want nothing to do with that.

Writing romance novels comes with its perks—traveling, meeting new people, creating characters from the voices in my head—but Ethan Rochester enters my life and rearranges all my preconceived notions about writing what inspires you.

One week is all it took. One week to realize that not everything is as it seems.

One week with the bad boy, and I wanted more.


 Review by April

ARC provided for an honest review 

5 'Horngry.' Stars

Smuttastic, addictive AF with a side of emotionally gripping turmoil, My Week with the Bad Boy is sure to be a hit! I seriously cannot get enough of this duo, whether they're writing as Kennedy Fox or as Brooke & Lyra; I have a book nerd lady boner for their work. There. The secret is out. Because, yes, I am addicted to their books and I get beyond giddy when one lands on my kindle and I can't stop there. No. I need to own physical copies of each of their books. Because #booklove is a real thing, people. Perhaps it borders on obsession but omfg its fun, and it's so easy to get lost within the pages of their books and devour them within a few short hours. They are THAT awesome!!

Prepare to laugh, sizzle and swoon, and maybe shed a few tears. The feels are real with this one folks!! It's a full out sexual and emotional roller-coaster through the highs and lows of all life's glory and unfortunate occasions. There's angst and sexual tension... and relief *wink* for days and days *cue the uncontrollable goofy grin* EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEk!!!!!!!!!! Oh yeah, this book serves IT up! It's a seriously smoking hot, thigh clenching, tear jerker of a really, really gd good time!

Vada Collins has been repeatedly burnt by love; singed to the core. She's closed off, but able to get the job done herself *wink* Ethan Rochester may look the part of the bad boy, my God he's so freaking hot. But he's broken, unable to move ahead with life, and just forget it when it comes to anything about love.

The chemistry between these two from the get-go was off the charts! I'm talking full on giddy-squee mode feels here. In all the books I've read I can honestly say I've never championed for, or wanted, and prayed, and begged the book gods for two characters to heel their hurts, to forgive the mistrusts of the past and GET TOGETHER! God they're so right and perfect for each other, and they just belong together. Forever. Happily Ever After style. Forever and ever... can I get an amen?!

Now, I sit and (im)patiently wait for Olivia's book. Hurry up spring 2018!!!! 


November 3, 2017

Review: Diamond by JA Low



Round 2 with the Devil begins in the second standalone dark romantic suspense novel in the Bratva Jewels series.

Grace thought she had left the nightmare of the Bratva Jewels behind her. Her days spent as one of the Russian Mafia's most desired escorts were some of the darkest of her life, but she was safe now. Or so she thought.

When Russian mobster Dmitri seeks revenge, he gets it, and Grace knows she must call on every ounce of inner strength she has to withstand what he has in store for her. What she didn't expect was to meet someone like Maxim . . .

Maxim is one of the Bratva's most skilled, and most feared, assassins. But his relationship to the Bratva is a complicated one. And when he meets Grace, suddenly everything becomes clear.

DIAMOND is the second standalone novel in the Bratva Jewels series - a completely immersive dark romantic suspense from the author of the DIRTY TEXAS series. If you loved SAPPHIRE, you will lose yourself in DIAMOND.


 Review by April

ARC provide for an honest review 

4 'Master and Jewel' Stars

Sexy and suspenseful, JA Low is bound to have jaws dropping with the powerful and enticing second installment of the Bratva Jewels series! Holy crap!! Whereas Sapphire was dark in a bloodshed sort of way, I had been expecting the same sort of mafia-esque story line and plot to play out within Diamond but, this book went in an entirely unexpected direction and a bit "lighter" in terms of bloodshed.

This book swooned my panties right off! Yes, you read that right. I fell head over heels in love with an assassin *gasp*... I know, right?! Pure insanity. BUT Maxim, my sweet killer, he really grew on me. The way he cared for and fell for Grace so hopelessly and helplessly, you knew there was some little piece of humanity still lurking within this bad-ass monster for hire. I just heart him!! GAH!

JA Low has created a brilliant, complex and dark world among the Russian Bratva with twists and turns at ever flip of the page, one that is beyond complicated with the lowest form of human scum there can be on this earth. Submerging the reader into uncomfortable territory, delving deep into the sex trade world and life of the Jewels. This is a series that will have you begging and pleading for more. It really is a 'dark light of day' experience.

'Yet, among the chaos, you seem to have fallen in love. I mustn't have broken you enough.' 
 

Review: Cuffed by K. Bromberg

From the New York Times bestselling author, K. Bromberg, comes a new series about three brothers, the job that calls them, and the women who challenge them.

“I hate you. I never want to see you again.”

Grant Malone is not the reason I moved back to Sunnyville—at least that’s what I tell myself. Yet, those parting words I said to him back in third grade, ring in my ears every time a townsperson brings up one of the Malone boys. I thought time had healed my wounds. I was wrong. Nothing could have prepared me for how I felt when I finally saw him again.

Twenty years does a lot to turn a boy into a man. One who hits all my buttons—sexy, funny, attractive, and a police officer. But Grant is off limits because he knows too much about my past.

But I’m drawn to him. That damn uniform of his doesn’t hurt either. It’ll be my downfall. I know it.

What’s one night of sex going to hurt . . . right?

***

I’ve always loved Emmy Reeves.

That’s why I’m shocked to see her all these years later. The shy girl I once knew is all grown up.

Adventurous and full of life, she owns my heart now, just as much as she did back then. Convincing her of that is a whole different story.

I’ll give her the one night she asks for—like that’s a hardship—but when it comes to letting her walk away after, she has another thing coming. There’s no way in hell I’m letting her go this time without a fight.


 Review by April

ARC provided for an honest review 

 4 'Forget the memories and just chase the moments.' Stars

Emotionally gripping and powerfully raw, K. Bromberg sure knows how to pull at my heart strings and make my face leak. As a reader who thrives off the risk of going into a book as blind as possible, I was completely blindsided by Cuffed as it went in an entirely different direction than I had been anticipating or expecting based solely on the cover, because let's be honest here- I'm 100% a cover whore and that hot AF cover doesn't really fit the book after reading it. Yes, theres a hot cop with some killer abs but there's so much more to this story; the content is most certainly intense and may trigger some. To me, that kind of intense, deep, and dark deserves more than abs. Anywho. Carrying on. ;)

'She's sunshine with a little bit of hurricane thrown in, and I'm willingly walking straight into her storm with nothing more than the clothes on my back.'

Gut wrenching, heart breaking, yet soul and spirit lifting to see the level of personal gorwth, acceptance and realizations of self worth and ill placed blame and fears throughout the story. I'll admit at times I did struggle with some content and character traits that left me feeling a bit 'meh' about the book, but after finishing and reflecting I can say that I was left with a content feeling in my heart and a smile on my face as I read the last pages. And the note from K. Bromberg at the end, well, f me. That made me love the story that much more.

'He brings calm to the chaos spinning out of control around me and within me.'


If you're looking to get lost AND found within a sea of feels and emotions, I recommend checking out this book!

"Head up. Wings out."

 

October 26, 2017

Review: A Little Too Late by Staci Hart

For nine long months, I've been fighting to figure out how to be a single dad, how to be alone.

For nine long months, I've been failing.

When Hannah walked through the door, I took my first breath since I'd found myself on my own. She slipped into our lives effortlessly, showing me what I've been missing all these years. Because Hannah made me smile when I thought I'd packed the notion of happiness away with my wedding album.

She was only supposed to be the nanny, but she's so much more.

The day my wife left should have been the worst day of my life, but it wasn't. It was when Hannah walked away, taking my heart with her.

*This contemporary romance features Charlie from A Thousand Letters*



Review by April

ARC provided for an honest review 

5 ' And we breathed.' Stars

So very unexpected and poignantly raw, I could not put this book down! Everything about A Little Too Late left me reeling in pure awe!! This book!! GAH!! It's so unbelievably beautiful, breathtaking, and emotionally haunting; it shred my soul to tiny little bits and put it all back together again, piece by piece. Hands down this is one of the best, most poetic and magical books I've read this year- it's definitely in a league of it's own. I seriously can't even right now! I think I have an author crush on Staci Hart now *gasp*

I fell fast and hard, living the pages as opposed to -just- reading them. There's something really special about this book, that sucks you in and consumes you. It will undoubtedly own you. There's such delicate sensuality and angst that ate me up and spat me out. Staci Hart did an impeccable job with this story and it's characters. Holy. EFF. ME. I cannot even begin to put into words ALL THE THINGS THIS BOOK IS!

A heartwarming story of a tortured broken man and a lost girl who find each other at the perfect time... or is it? Dun dun dunn *wink* A Little Too Late is one book you'll not want to miss out on! It's far more than a literary experience or adventure, it's heart and soul awakening.

READ THIS BOOK ASAP!!!


October 25, 2017

Review: Forever Right Now by Emma Scott

***STANDALONE new adult romance from the author of The Butterfly Project and the Full Tilt Duet***

Darlene Montgomery has been to hell and back…more than once. After a stint in jail for drug possession, she is finally clean and ready to start over. Yet another failed relationship is just the motivation she needs to move from New York to San Francisco with the hopes of resurrecting her dance career and discovering that she is more than the sum of her rap sheet. As Darlene struggles in her new city, the last thing she wants is to become entangled with her handsome—but cranky—neighbor and his adorable little girl...

Sawyer Haas is weeks away from finishing law school, but exhaustion, dwindling finances, and the pressure to provide for himself and his daughter, Olivia, are wearing him down. A federal clerkship--a job he desperately needs--awaits him after graduation, but only if he passes the Bar Exam. Sawyer doesn’t have the time or patience for the capricious—if beautiful—dancer who moves into the apartment above his. But Darlene’s easy laugh and cheerful spirit seep into the cracks of his hardened heart, and slowly break down the walls he’s resurrected to keep from being betrayed ever again.

When the parents of Olivia’s absentee mother come to fight for custody, Sawyer could lose everything. To have any chance at happiness, he must trust Darlene, the woman who has somehow found her way past his brittle barbs, and Darlene must decide how much of her own bruised heart she is willing to give to Sawyer and Olivia, especially when the ghosts of her troubled past refuse to stay buried.

For readers 18 and up


 Review by April 

ARC provided for an honest review 

5 'You deserve to be loved as you are.' Stars

I've gone and done it again; fell head over heels in love with a book! It's passionate and gritty and it was simply EVERYTHING!! So many feels and emotions. Forever Right Now grabbed a hold of me from very early in and I couldn't put this one down. Devoured in one sitting. Just wow, wow, wow!! Now I'm left kicking myself in the butt because if this book was THIS FREAKING AMAZING, I'm left wondering how amazing all her other books are that I haven't read yet. FML. Yes, this is my first Emma Scott read and I can guarantee you it won't be my last. I am addicted, there's no other way to put it- flat out addicted. There's a support group for this, right? lol

With a slow burn so tantalizing, devastating at times, yet soothing and cleansing. The story and lives of Sawyer and Darlene is not cut and dry; it's one of learning from past mistakes and horrors, letting go of the baggage and learning to grow. Life is not black and white, nor is it free of a little heartache or regard. Each on a journey so selfless while being selfish in denying themselves of carnal wants and needs- desires.

This is a story that will stick with me for quite some time, one of those unforgettable contemporary romances that you rave about to the masses and re-read over and over, one that you crave to feel and experience for the first time again. Yeah, this book hangover is going to suck!

"The universe listened," he said, "and then it answered."

Review: The High Road by Lauren Runow

I walk through these halls with my tight bun, form-fitting uniform and a fake smile plastered across my face. My career is everything I’ve planned. I’ve made Captain in the Air Force, and I’ve gained the respect and recognition from my peers both below and above me. On the outside, I look like I’ve got it all, but on the inside, I’m slowing dying inside.

I never knew after one staggering night out, Alex would change my perception on life. He opened my eyes and gave me a glimpse into a world of what I was missing.

More of what I yearned for.

More of what I needed.

But he forgot to mention one thing… he is my subordinate.

*The High Road is a novella originally published in the Secret Affair Anthology.


 Review by April 

ARC provided for an honest review

4 -because I'm greedy and want more- Stars

Woooo! The High Road might be a short tantalizing treat of a read but it certainly doesn't lack in the sizzle and holy f department. This novella is scorching hot!!! Yes, ring the freaking alarm! Right. Now.

Military reads really aren't my thing but the whole taboo factor of this one kept me engaged and flipping the pages at an alarming rate. An Officer and a newbie fraternizing = tsk tsk tsk! Yes, I'm a sucker for anything taboo, and this story just kept getting hotter and hotter by the page! The turmoil, angst and passion within set my little book nerd heart on FIRE!

This novella packs a punch! Loaded with kink, a swoony storyline, and one sexy badboy you won't soon forget! You'll be panting his name soon enough *wink*

I'm brought to a heaven I didn't know existed.'
 

 

October 17, 2017

Review: Scored by Sloane Howell

He’s a player. But she’s about to score.

Opposites really do attract* as a sassy salesgirl turns a pro athlete’s life upside down in this supercharged standalone novel of seduction from the author of Bossed.


Kelsey: My mom would tell you I’m quite the catch, but since my last boyfriend, I haven’t been dating much. Maybe it’s my rocker style or my lack of filter that intimidates the boys. So I’m pleasantly surprised when Matt Stallworth waltzes into the indie record store where I work and gives as good he gets. Turns out Matt is a professional baseball player, which should mean he’s out of my league. But if he wants to hook up with me, he’s going to have to follow my rules.

Matt: After winning my MVP award, I learned that a guy can get used to having beautiful women practically throw themselves at you everywhere you turn. But everything changes the first time I see Kelsey Martin, and something just clicks. She’s hot, snarky, and whip-smart. I’ve got to see her again. Only problem is, she sees right through all my best moves. And I’m going to have to step up my game to convince Kelsey that I’m playing for keeps.

*And sexy times ensue—for mature audiences.

This standalone novel includes an excerpt from another Loveswept title.


 Review by April

ARC provided via NerGalley for an honest review  

5 'I was jealous of your fingers, getting to touch what I wanted.' Stars

'He's a player.' But you as the reader are about to score by reading this fun and oh so very, very sexy sports romance! Scored is nothing short of bookgasmic perfection! If this book had cheeks, I'd be squishing them so hard right now!! Eeek! It's just too sweet and too addictive for words, deliriously so! I'm a mushy, gushy pile of lustful swoon. Sloane Howell has once again rocked my socks off and hit another of his works out of the park with such a beautiful, well paced home run. This guy really knows how to write swoony AF romance that hits all the "O" notes that gets the butterflies swarming in my belly and my eyes rolling back in such book nerd bliss! Yeah, I guess you could say I kind of really loved this one a whole freaking lot! *le sigh* Everyone likes a dirty, filthy mouth on a hot alpha *wink*

Former player in the sheets and current all-star on the field, Matt Stallworth is a down to earth, dream boat with a heart of gold and a loaded wallet. Ok, he's loaded down *there* too. The one area he is not loaded in is the love-life department, but he has his eyes on one Kelsey Martin. Having been burnt by past love, she's definitely a challenge; but one he's certainly up for!

The thrill of the chase, their magnetic push and pull, the romantically charged swoon and chivalry, their undeniable chemistry combined with laugh out loud humour, wit and banter had me glued to this unputdownable story. Scored had my heart beating double time, soaring, and floating away in euphoric book lovers bliss. Sloane Howell did a fantastic job delivering this story and conveying the emotions involved.

"Oh, you wanna see some holy shit there, Miss Martin? I got some holy shit for you."

Squeeeeeeeeeee!!!!!!!!!!!!

I just can't even when it comes to Sloane Howell, and that's a really, really, really good thing!!!
Scored for the win, a top read of 2017!



October 10, 2017

Review: Sure Thing by Jana Aston

Have you ever set out to have a one night stand with a sexy stranger?
No? I’m the only one?
Just kidding, I would never.
Ever.
Not usually.

But then I figured, why not? My entire life I’ve been good and it’s gotten me nowhere.
No job.
No apartment.
No boyfriend.

I’m owed a little fun, aren’t I? A reward for being good.
Sure, a new pair of shoes would be more appropriate, but Mr. Sexy Stranger is more appealing. And when he speaks—in that British accent—it’s a done deal. Every American woman has a hot British guy fantasy. Well, most do. I haven't taken a poll or anything, but I’m pretty sure it’s a fact.

Except…
You know that saying about best-laid plans?
Good, because I don’t either, but I assume they go awry.
Like my one night stand…


 Review by April 

ARC provided for an honest review 

5 'Sexual Anglophile fetish.' Stars

When it comes to swoony romantic comedies chock full of kink, Jana Aston sure takes the piss! If you loved Wrong, Right, Fling, & Trust, heck all things Jana Aston, you're going to be so smitten and completely utterly chuffed with Sure Thing!! I'm in 100% SQUEE mode over this freaking book; I'm just knackered... obsessed. I really want a horse garage of my own *wink* and to drink in a pub with a funky name.

First off, Sure Thing was definitely a sure thing, but not the sure thing I thought it would be. No, this book was something else entirely. Have I lost you yet? LOL This sure thing was most certainly a one-night stand fo sho *place that lil check mark right here*, with a whole other level of OMFG that kind of took it out of one-night stand territory and into a whole new sexual universe!!! I did not see that coming at all. NOT AT ALL!!! But I squee'd just the same, perhaps louder than I should have and woke the whole house... shit. BUT OMG!!!! No freaking way did that happen!!! Jana flippin' Aston you sneaky lil turd! I <3 and="" br="" turns="" twists="" you="" your="">
I loved this story! Love, love, loved it! The awkwardness of Rose/Daisy/Violet had me in stitches and rolling in laughter, such an innocent sweet soul that girl is. AND THEN there is the downright, utterly sexy and charming sexpot of a British hunk, Jennings *le freaking sigh* He is a total knuckle biter... just thinking of him. Mmm! These two, three, or... four LOL had off the charts sexual chemistry and tension. I just can't even!! It's been quite a while since I've had a grin this huge plastered on my face while reading!

'We fit together, like finding a missing puzzle piece. One that you think you'll never locate and then bam, it's right there in front of you, just waiting to be snapped into place.'

You can't go wrong with Jana Aston, her work is a Sure Thing.


October 5, 2017

Review: Scandalous by L.J. Shen

They call him The Mute for a reason.
Hard, cold and calculated, he rarely speaks.
When he does, it’s with disdain.
When he does, his words aren’t meant for me.
When he does, my stomach flips and my world tilts on its axis.
He is thirty-three.
I am eighteen.
He’s a single dad and my father’s business partner.
I’m just a kid to him and his enemy’s daughter.
He’s emotionally unavailable.
And I am…feeling. Feeling things I shouldn’t feel for him.
Trent Rexroth is going to break my heart. The writing isn’t just on the wall, it’s inked on my soul.
And yet, I can’t stay away.
A scandal is the last thing my family needs. But a scandal is what we’re going to give them.
And oh, what beautiful chaos it will be.


 Review by April 

ARC provided for an honest review 

5 'On your knees, and otherwise.' Stars

Oh holy alpha HOTHOLES! When it comes to the Sinners of Saint series, L.J Shen has me on my knees bowing to her devilishly brilliant literary prowess and begging and panting for more. I have no shame when it comes to this series, like none whatsoever. Defy, Vicious, and Ruckus have all lead and built up to this truly Scandalicious moment; taunting us, and this book definitely deserves a good loud, hard SQUEE!!! Just bend me over already and EFF ME in the you know where! lol GAH!

"I should warn you, Edie. I'm not the prince in this fairy tale. I'm the villain. The poisonous apple, the flame-breathing monster."

Scandalous returns us to the motherland of the Hotholes, it's like a sweet reunion with glimpses of our fave bad boys with their spin and view on all the things and happenings in Trent's life. It's all quite cheeky *wink* and L.J. Shen continues to weave a web of intricately woven story line that continues the saga in their signature raging Hothole alpha fashion! Darkness, dripping in deceit with an edge of sweetness and a promise for more, more, moreeee. MmmMmm!

'... left scars on my ego and blisters on my libido.'

Scandalous needs to be experienced first hand and I'm not giving anything away!! Edie and Trent are just so OMFG for each other! The push to each other's pull, the off the charts sexual tension, the slight tabooness of the age gap. There's just so much to this story, OMG you have NO IDEA! It's raw, emotional and just freaking beautiful, perfect and oh so so so SO sexy! I'll just say that Trent isn't 'just another pretty face.'

"You're mine, and you hate it. You're mine, and I'm not a wave you can ride. I'm the fucking ocean."


Read this sexy AF, hothole AF book now!